It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
610 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Camino De Santiago

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Camino De Santiago trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Camino De Santiago reviews verified by reevooReevoo

19 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Camino De SantiagoScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 19 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Barbara

Virginia, USA
The trip was amazing for its varied scenery, wonderful accommodations, great food along the way, and - as usual - a wonderful Explore local guide/leader. It is made more interesting by the fact of the historic nature of the trip: travelling the ancient road of many pilgrims to Santiago de Compostela, going far enough that you are able to be eligible to receive a "Compostela"certificate for completing 100+ kilometers of the Way. One highlight was the great seafood available, and being able to experience such a different part of Spain - Galicia - with its different climate, culture and language. finally seeing the cathedral of Santiago de Compostela was amazing at the end of the very long day.
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 10 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Diana

Brighton & Hove
An excellent experience joining many other "pilgrims" on the Camino to Santiago. The terrain was relatively easy although some days were very long (slightly longer than the itinerary suggested). The 3 days at the beginning were particularly enjoyable as they were all very different and the slightly more mountainous area were particularly attractive. The wild flowers were amazing and I would strongly recommend doing this trip at this time of year for that reason. The route is so easy to follow that everyone was able to go at their own pace adding to everyone's enjoyment. We enjoyed collecting our pilgrim's stamps and there was a tremendous sense of achievement when we finally arrived in Santiago.
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Sarah

Wirral
An excellent walking tour, a great itinerary with just about the right time to enjoy the wonderful Camino to Santiago. The tour leader, Jon, was superb, he looked after us all, provided interesting information along the way, knew all the best stops for breaks and created a good group dynamic right from the outset. My only criticism would be Explore's limited flight options which seem only to cater for customers based in the SE of England, I booked independent flights.
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Sophie

London
The accommodation and organisation was flawless. There was wifi everywhere and with the exception of one hotel, there were lifts. Breakfasts are extremely variable in quality (sometimes miserable) and I'm glad we were warned about this. However there are opportunities to buy food and drinks while walking so I didn't find it a big problem. Restaurants abound in the picturesque towns or villages where we spent our nights. They serve delicious local food and wine at very reasonable prices. The choices and recommendations of restaurants (whether we ate independently or with the group) from our guide were great.
Our Explore guide, Jon, was super. I'll go again on any trip with such a motivating, enthusiastic, helpful and knowledgeable guide!
The first days of the trip have spectacular walks and are organised to avoid walking along motorways or in towns. Unfortunately as we approached Santiago the scenery gets progressively less and less exciting with dreary parts and ugly urban walking that is not enjoyable.

My one complaint is that the distances and the hours of walking in the trip notes are not accurate. If one counts the distances walked in towns (leaving in the morning and finding our hotel in the evening ), we had to walk far more kms per day than I expected (and the terrain is demanding at times) and for 9 consecutive days. I would have preferred less kms per day with more time to relax or explore towns during the summer evenings when Spain comes to life. We were indeed provided with guided tours to visit sites but after such exhausting walks it was impossible to concentrate on often far too talkative guides.
This walking trip is for trained and fit walkers - not for the amateur walker.
I was also grateful for the advice from others that it rains very often on the Camino and thus I was well equipped for the frequent wet weather!
All in all I found it a fascinating experience.
Confirmed traveller: 14 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Tamara

Canberra ACT Australia
The tour was unforgettable. The itinerary was very well thought out, the acccommodation, mainly, appropriate. Best of all was the tour guide Jon, who maintained a sense of humour and equanimity throughout. He kept a watchful eye on each one of us. The group had varying abilities and Jon was like a sheepdog, running from the front of the pack to the back, making sure that everyone was okay and nobody got lost. He took those who needed it to the chemist, found ATMs for others. I would re book with explore if I knew that Jon was to be the tour guide/leader again.
The trip notes advised that Day 2 was to be over gently undulating territory. These notes need revision to state that "Day 2 is the toughest of the trip and involves a lot of downward travel over very steep, rough and rocky terrain. "
Two people on the tour suffered injuries that day. I ended up with three black toe nails from the terrain.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 25 September 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016

Hi Tamara, I appreciate your feedback of your trip. I love the visual imagery of the Explore Leader being a watchful and busy sheepdog! On reviewing your comments with our local agent, we think you are referring to day three – the descent into Molinaseca. We are looking to make the nature of the walk clearer in the notes, so thank you for letting us know how you found the walk.

(9 out of 10)

Angela

The highlight of the tour has to be the camaraderie within the group and the excellent group leader. Each day brought something new both in terms of the beautiful and diverse terrain as well as our individual journey. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this tour to anyone who enjoys walking and a personal challenge. I will certainly book again with Explore.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 19 June 2016
Published on: 25 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Valerie

Leeds
Walked with a group that gelled and appreciated each others company. Regrouping as we walked along was handled well and was no problem.
All logistics concerning bag carriage and group meals was well organised. Accommodation was the usual Explore standard.
Using the bus for some transfer on the early days proved beneficial to get used to the walk.
Personally, I became more in tune with the emotions of the Camino as we continued and came across so many making the same journey. Reaching the Iron Cross brought an unexpected tear to my eye, and of course arriving in Santiago, and the evening service, was the culmination of an inspiring journey.
Being able to walk day after day is an important consideration - not rely on getting fitter as you go along, and be confident about footwear.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 19 June 2016
Published on: 22 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Alison

Cambridge
The group settled easily and positively, partly because of random factors (self selection of who would want to do the Camino?) but very much aided by the positive yet always discreet activity and presence of our guide. The level of being together, and able to be independent worked well. I´d done 4 days independent on the Camino before the group trip, and would not know now which of the two I would do again. Tips: be prepared in terms of physical preparation, and perhaps in having less rather than more luggage, and with tried and tested equipment and clothing.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2016
Published on: 19 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Penny

London
This was a wonderful trip made particularly special by Jon our tour leader. Many of us had personal reasons for wanting to walk the Camino and were of varying levels of fitness. Jon was sensitive to each of our needs and created a sense of purpose for our little team of pilgrims. Weather in May was changeable and we had some hot days a couple of wet days too. Although I am a regular walker the day to day walking took a greater toll on my feet than I expected - take plasters for your blisters! This walk is a great experience - the countryside sometimes feels a bit like England but the interesting mix of people you'll bump into along the way makes this a trek like no other. And the collecting of stamps for your Camino "passport" becomes a competitive sport! Attending the Pilgrims mass in the magnificent cathedral in Santiago was a treat worth walking all that way for.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2016
Published on: 18 June 2016
(8 out of 10)

Harry

The reason we gave accommodation a 7 was due to 2 places having no hot water and at a couple of them breakfast was lacking. The reason we gave itinerary a 7 was because the first day was way too long. We started with a 3 hour guided tour at 9:00 in Leon which then meant that we were starting the Camino at the HOTTEST part of the day and ending our day very late. This was not a smart start for the tour!

The tour guide in Leon was very good, she was very knowledgable and passionate about her job. We felt she had a very good sense of humor and was in touch with the group. We feel it should remain a part of the tour but maybe done on the previous day.

The tour guide in Santiago was NOT good, we had trouble understanding her and not because of her accent but because of the words she chose and how she phrased them. She had absolutely no sense of humor. At one point we were all listening to the other tour guide that happened to be standing by our group just because she was way more interesting and funny.

Jon, our tour guide, was fabulous! We loved him, he was kind, caring and very attentive to everyone's needs. He had enough knowledge to give us some insights to the places along the Camino. He had a great sense of humor and we trusted him.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2016
Published on: 13 June 2016