It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Rocky Mountains and the Pacific Coast RK

Visiting: Canada
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Rocky Mountains and the Pacific Coast

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Rocky Mountains and the Pacific Coast trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Rocky Mountains and the Pacific Coast reviews verified by reevooReevoo

12 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Rocky Mountains and the Pacific CoastScores 9.3 out of 10 based on 12 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Joanna

Manchester
An amazing adventure through Canada's Rocky mountains and coastline. Splendid scenery and wildlife. We saw black and grizzly bears, elk, deer, marmots, pica, chipmunks, grey whales, sea lions, sea otters, bald eagles and much more. We walked on mountains, near rivers, waterfalls, forests, canyons and lakes and on a glacier. We learned about First Nations people and Canada's history and geography. We had some time to explore Banff, Jasper, Whistler and Vancouver, but not much time in Calgary. You may think about extending your holiday at either end if you wish to explore Calgary or Vancouver in more detail.

The accommodation was largely good; all rooms with en-suite, toiletries, towels and hairdryer. All had coffee makers. Most had TV, fridge and microwave, but not all. A couple had wi-fi that was intermittent, but most had adequate wi-fi.

Our driver and tour leader was excellent; full of energy and enthusiasm. She guided us very ably using her wide knowledge of the area and its wildlife. We went on some lovely walks and, when on the road, she found great places for stops and picnics. She cooked for us on several occasions which saved us money. She was very receptive to our varying requests and needs and organised everything with skill and minimal fuss. She did all the driving, yet commented as we went along on the area and items of interest.

The tour involves substantial time on the road and although the scenery is beautiful and we had plenty of stops, it could be tiring. At every stop there are toilets but in most places, where there is no cafe or shop, the toilet is a small cabin inside which is a large hole in the ground with a toilet over the top. They were often a bit smelly, but most had hand sanitiser gel. I had some of my own as well which proved useful.

I would recommend this holiday to anyone who enjoys scenery and wildlife and doesn't mind the travelling. I was quite tired by the end of the trip, but in a good way!
Confirmed traveller: 04 September 2016
Published on: 13 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Jana

London
I had researched guided tours of the Canadian Rocky Mountains, and this tour had exactly the itinerary that I wanted. I wasn't disappointed, except for the weather at times, which I really should have anticipated. Overall we were considered lucky with the weather and the wildlife sightings in late August, so the time of year seemed to be ideal. Top tips are to bring plenty of layers and weatherproof clothing, sturdy boots, mosquito repellent and walking poles. We had a few picnics and a BBQ dinner, all shopped for and prepared for by our amazing tour leader/driver, which only cost us between CAD$5-$10 per meal, which was excellent value and a nice break from restaurants. The selection offered to us for these shared meals was far better when our resources were pooled together, and our tour leader choose items and cooked them far better than I could have done. She also drove us to places when we needed a ride somewhere when we were not staying in the centre of town and she was overall the most amazing tour leader ever.
Confirmed traveller: 04 September 2016
Published on: 18 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Sarah

Surbiton, Surrey
Tour pretty much met expectations from itinerary- fantastic scenery, plenty of opportunity for hikes and longer/harder trails for those that wanted. Accommodation was perhaps not as good as other trips but comfortable and clean. Take plenty of money as no food is included and optional trips are expensive. Night temperature pretty cool so take lots of layers. Mosquitos were a problem on some of the trails so take plenty of repellent. Highlights were the 'High Note' trek in Whistler with chair lift down, bear and whale watching, cycling in Vancouver and in general the scenery of mountains, lakes and rivers was stunning.
Confirmed traveller: 28 August 2016
Published on: 13 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Enjoyed the locations and knowledge of the guide. The scenery was stunning and sometimes you just couldnt capture it on a photo. Some hotels could have been more central as the remote locations meant very limited options for food as a number of restaurants were closed on the days we were there or only one restaurant in the vicinity. Enjoyed the BBQ cooked by our guide. At times clearer information could have been given by the guide, particularly when choosing to do different optional activities. Sometimes it was hard to make clear decisions on what to do. Perhaps some optional trip info could be provided prior to the trip so we can make decisions before we go and also ensure we don't miss out on activities like the ice walk as this was booked the day it was scheduled for. Although the guide did offer an alternative but it would have meant a 6 hr car ride and missing Banff which I would highly recommend. Also the lakes are amazing.
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2016
Published on: 14 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Christine

Melbourne
I thoroughly enjoyed both tours. Great for both couples and singles. Audrey excelled as a leader with her organisation and capacity to cater for varying interests and abilities of the group.

Both tours offered variety and choice with the opportunity for the added extra. I loved the glacier walk on the Rockies tour and the walk to Helmcken Falls was beautiful. It provided a great contrast in terrain from other walks.

Ma Johnson hotel in Alaska an interesting and quirky option worked well for twin rooms and singles in a double . No idea how two people might squeeze into a double room.

I look forward to my next adventure with Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 02 July 2016
Published on: 05 July 2016
(10 out of 10)

Phoebe

berkeley, California
I really loved the overall pace of the trip. It was not a Mountains to the Coast race across Canada. We stayed several nights are each place and had a chance to really experience very different aspects of the geography, which was various and.
Confirmed traveller: 22 August 2015
Published on: 15 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Difficult to pick out highlights as everything was so enjoyable (even the long journeys were full of things to look at). Basically the scenery and the wildlife are the highlights.Nothing but praise for our tour leader, a difficult job with long distances to drive as well as performing all of the other tasks including producing pic-nics and guiding the walks. Dealt with changes to our plans with alternative activities every time.
Confirmed traveller: 18 July 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Pip

New Zealand
Highlights of this tour were the opportunities to view wildlife in their natural settings. The scenery was magnificent. The tour leader, Jo, is very experienced and has a wealth of knowledge about the areas we visited, often leading us off onto quieter tracks that she knew where we could enjoy the views amid peaceful surroundings. The tour included opportunities for bear watching and whale watching. On our tour everyone went bear watching out of Torfino on zodiacs and some went whale watching later. We saw bears, birds, butterflies and elk, mountains, forests and rivers. Accommodation was good and was carefully arranged to be 'outside' the tourist meccas as the latter tend to be expensive. The only disappointment was the lack of time available to enjoy Victoria and its surroundings, only half a day and overnight was allocated there before going on to Vancouver. Victoria is delightful.
Confirmed traveller: 06 July 2015
Published on: 07 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

James

Keswick ,Cumbria
Our Tourleader was simply the best we have ever had with explore.She drove us everywhere and prepared the most amazing meals and picnics for us which saved us a lot of money.
Confirmed traveller: 05 July 2015
Published on: 19 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Bring a decent daypack, a big zoom lens on your camera and sticks if you're planning to do a lot of hiking.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015