It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Rocky Mountains and the Pacific Coast RK

Visiting: Canada
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Rocky Mountains and the Pacific Coast

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Rocky Mountains and the Pacific Coast trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Rocky Mountains and the Pacific Coast reviews verified by reevooReevoo

19 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Rocky Mountains and the Pacific CoastScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 19 reviews
(8 out of 10)

John

London
Horseriding was disappointing; rafting, kayaking excellent; scenery excellent
Confirmed traveller: 16 July 2017
Published on: 20 July 2017
(8 out of 10)

Maria

Aldershot
The description of the tour activity level as moderate is deceptive - it rapidly becomes full-on as you add optional activities. Plan for more walking than the itinerary suggests, too - trips to see lakes and waterfalls often involve a round trip of a few km, which in places may be steep. This tour is definitely not suitable for anyone with mobility problems!

However, if you are reasonably fit, the walks are beautiful and well worth the effort. There is a good balance of time in towns and cities, doing activities like rafting, cycling or wildlife watching, and time spent in the wilderness, exploring the amazing scenery on foot. Travelling from West to East as we did, there was a distinct transition from more organised activities and wildlife at the start of the tour, to more walking, lakes and waterfalls at the end. The bear-watching boat trip in Tofino was an absolute must-do, although we did also see a couple of bears in passing along the road.

The accommodation was generally good, although we were not impressed with the Pocahontas cabins, where there was a major mosquito problem. These were unhelpfully and inexplicably far out of town, making the limited restaurant opening hours a problem, and preventing any return from Jasper during the day.

Top tips - do the bear tour, even if you don't go whale watching, and take lots of sunscreen and mosquito repellent! Changing temperatures during the day make layers, and ideally trousers that can be unzipped to shorts, well worth it. We were lucky with the weather, but as you are often away from base all day, and walks can be long, with no quick return, a lightweight waterproof jacket is definitely worth having. Consider trekking pole(s) if you have trouble with uneven surfaces or hills.
Confirmed traveller: 16 July 2017
Published on: 19 July 2017
(8 out of 10)

Hazel

Stockport
Very fast paced tour. Breathtaking scenery from lakes to waterfalls and forests to glaciers. Our guide Mirielle was very knowledgeable about her country and has a lovely personality. She drove the bus very well and provided 4-5 lunches and picnics for us as sometimes in very remote areas. Also a most delicious stuffed pork on the BBQ served with cream and maple sauce - delicious. There was one particular cabin in Jasper that was absolutely raging with mosquitos and could not open the door for fear of being eaten alive. The cabin was also 42km from Jasper so meant that we all had to stay out for the full day. Canmore accommodation had great views of the Rockies and nice little place. Whistler hotel very central and hotel had 5 bikes for use of the guests. Also good pool and sauna. Found a good Irish bar just at the bottom of the Gondolas with live entertainment.
Final night at Calgary coincided with Stampede so streets full of Line dancers, square dancing and First Nation and Cowboys parade - Trip ended on a high note. Tips - lots of insect repellent, water bottle and lots of snacks for breakfast and for travel days. State tax 4-5% added to all bills + 17-18% service tip is usually added as standard.
Confirmed traveller: 16 July 2017
Published on: 18 July 2017
(7 out of 10)

Caroline

Tamworth
This tour covers a serious amount of ground. There are lots more hikes than the trip notes state so be prepared & bring your boots & poles. Also bring cold weather gear if you intend to do the glacier walk. Some of the hotels are in the middle of no where so I felt very stranded. This is fine in Wells gray as the whole point is to be in the middle of no where it's a national park. However when they put us a 40 minutes walk out of Victoria on a trading estate & 40 minute drive out of Jasper in a mosquito infested flea pit this was not acceptable!!
Confirmed traveller: 15 July 2017
Published on: 19 July 2017
(7 out of 10)

Christopher

Fleet
We enjoyed the tour as we found ourselves with a group of like minded people. The intinerary was good
but difficult to get the most out of in late May/ early June.

Biggest issue is the value for money. The hotels used were cheap and the total for each comes nowhere near the high cost charged. It's not clear why this holiday is so expensive and has made us think about putting our own tour together in future.
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017

Many thanks for your feedback Christopher, I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the tour despite the late-running winter in Canada this year. I’m sorry that you didn’t feel that this trip provided value for money - the idea of the tour isn’t to concentrate on spending time in the hotels, but rather to get off the beaten path and appreciate all of the great outdoors that Canada has to offer. The tour price includes all of the elements that make up this tour, with passionate Explore leaders who can show our groups the best of their country. Unfortunately Canada is in North America, and guiding services and transport is expensive, as well as the permit requirements for operating tours in the Rockies. I’m sorry to hear that you were not happy on this occasion, but we’re proud to be offering competitive prices on this holiday, despite increasing costs in a popular destination coupled with a poor exchange rate.

(9 out of 10)

Geoffrey

Syresham
The Rockies were amazing, Calgary and Vancouver less so. We had an astonishing range of weather, from very hot, to driving snow and windy rain. There is a lot of driving involved, especially in the second week (going east to west). Our guide, Mireille, took us to various eateries, but in some cases she forgot to judge the costs involved.
Mireille should also give more explicit details of what is to happen.
Highlights? Whistler, Victoria and mountain views. We loved the walking, but the bear and whale watching were spoilt by the rainy weather and the glacier hike was snowed off!
Air Transat - no frills - Explore should advise clients to take their own headset for the flights.
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Jak

Halifax
Great trip, lots of wildlife, excellent tour leader. The first week was the best for me because it was more out in the mountains and the wild. The second week was more touristy taking in Whistler, Victoria and Vancouver and this was too many towns/cities for me. Accommodation was a mixture, some very good and some not so good (Howard Johnson). Tour leader did a huge amount of work, driving in heat with no air con (because it broke) and in a blizzard, leading hikes, cooking, making reservations and all done calmly and with good humour. She made the trip work really well and dealt with all our endless questions and demands. She deserves a big bonus!
Confirmed traveller: 03 June 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Joanna

Manchester
An amazing adventure through Canada's Rocky mountains and coastline. Splendid scenery and wildlife. We saw black and grizzly bears, elk, deer, marmots, pica, chipmunks, grey whales, sea lions, sea otters, bald eagles and much more. We walked on mountains, near rivers, waterfalls, forests, canyons and lakes and on a glacier. We learned about First Nations people and Canada's history and geography. We had some time to explore Banff, Jasper, Whistler and Vancouver, but not much time in Calgary. You may think about extending your holiday at either end if you wish to explore Calgary or Vancouver in more detail.

The accommodation was largely good; all rooms with en-suite, toiletries, towels and hairdryer. All had coffee makers. Most had TV, fridge and microwave, but not all. A couple had wi-fi that was intermittent, but most had adequate wi-fi.

Our driver and tour leader was excellent; full of energy and enthusiasm. She guided us very ably using her wide knowledge of the area and its wildlife. We went on some lovely walks and, when on the road, she found great places for stops and picnics. She cooked for us on several occasions which saved us money. She was very receptive to our varying requests and needs and organised everything with skill and minimal fuss. She did all the driving, yet commented as we went along on the area and items of interest.

The tour involves substantial time on the road and although the scenery is beautiful and we had plenty of stops, it could be tiring. At every stop there are toilets but in most places, where there is no cafe or shop, the toilet is a small cabin inside which is a large hole in the ground with a toilet over the top. They were often a bit smelly, but most had hand sanitiser gel. I had some of my own as well which proved useful.

I would recommend this holiday to anyone who enjoys scenery and wildlife and doesn't mind the travelling. I was quite tired by the end of the trip, but in a good way!
Confirmed traveller: 04 September 2016
Published on: 13 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Jana

London
I had researched guided tours of the Canadian Rocky Mountains, and this tour had exactly the itinerary that I wanted. I wasn't disappointed, except for the weather at times, which I really should have anticipated. Overall we were considered lucky with the weather and the wildlife sightings in late August, so the time of year seemed to be ideal. Top tips are to bring plenty of layers and weatherproof clothing, sturdy boots, mosquito repellent and walking poles. We had a few picnics and a BBQ dinner, all shopped for and prepared for by our amazing tour leader/driver, which only cost us between CAD$5-$10 per meal, which was excellent value and a nice break from restaurants. The selection offered to us for these shared meals was far better when our resources were pooled together, and our tour leader choose items and cooked them far better than I could have done. She also drove us to places when we needed a ride somewhere when we were not staying in the centre of town and she was overall the most amazing tour leader ever.
Confirmed traveller: 04 September 2016
Published on: 18 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Sarah

Surbiton, Surrey
Tour pretty much met expectations from itinerary- fantastic scenery, plenty of opportunity for hikes and longer/harder trails for those that wanted. Accommodation was perhaps not as good as other trips but comfortable and clean. Take plenty of money as no food is included and optional trips are expensive. Night temperature pretty cool so take lots of layers. Mosquitos were a problem on some of the trails so take plenty of repellent. Highlights were the 'High Note' trek in Whistler with chair lift down, bear and whale watching, cycling in Vancouver and in general the scenery of mountains, lakes and rivers was stunning.
Confirmed traveller: 28 August 2016
Published on: 13 October 2016