It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
625 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Rocky Mountains and the Pacific Coast RK

Visiting: Canada
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Rocky Mountains and the Pacific Coast

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Rocky Mountains and the Pacific Coast trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Rocky Mountains and the Pacific Coast reviews verified by reevooReevoo

34 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Rocky Mountains and the Pacific CoastScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 34 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Carol

London
This was a wonderful trip and I would thoroughly recommend it. It covered a beautiful part of the world and our journey from Vancouver to Calgary covered many different types of stunning scenery. There was plenty to see and do every day and even the days we had to cover long distances were broken up by walks or hikes so every day had several highlights. The bear watching trip at Tofino and the glacier walk at Icefield Parkway were amazing and once in a lifetime experiences so definitely do these optional excursions. Whistler and the Jasper area ((Maligne Lake and Canyon) were spectacular and we were so lucky to see them in brilliant warm sunshine. We added on extra days in Vancouver at the start and am so glad we did as it is a lovely city.

Rich our tour leader worked tirelessly to make sure every day was the best it could be. His energy and enthusiasm were infectious and the whole group got on extremely well together.

Rich always made time for everyone and in addition to running the tour and driving made picnic lunches, BBQs, afternoon snacks and other thoughtful extras. These were fun, gave us more time to enjoy ourselves and saved money. We found we spent a lot of money during the 2 days on our own in Vancouver, but much less when we were on the road. My only tip,would be to make sure you take lots of layers as the temperature on some days varied between low single figures in the morning and 28 degrees in the afternoon.

Overall an excellent trip which exceeded my expectations. it was one of my best holidays ever so don't hesitate to book it.
Confirmed traveller: 10 September 2017
Published on: 23 September 2017
(10 out of 10)

Jacqueline

An absolutely awesome trip. Lake Moraine and Peyto. Portofino and the bear watching. Our tour leader Richard Smits was excellent - nothing was too much trouble for him and he tried hard to make sure everyone was included and happy - an excellent leader and great fun
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2017
Published on: 19 September 2017
(10 out of 10)

K

This was a trip of a lifetime, with a 'wow' everyday. Richard, the tour leader, was passionate about Canada and ensured everyone had a really amazing time. He went out of his way on numerous occasions and cooked some fabulous meals for the group. The itinerary allowed us to see many wonderful places and the wildlife was cooperative and was happy to be seen too.
Loved the day at Whistler, the 'peak to peak' gondola is a must.
Bear watching at Tofino was another highlight and the Athabasca Glacier is incredible. Just some of the highlights from a tour of 'wows'!
If you're a tea connoisseur, I recommend a small travel kettle and your own tea bags as most accommodation has coffee makers.
A fabulous trip in a stunning, friendly country, lead by a passionate and accommodating tour leader ! Thank you Explore, my fellow travellers and Richard for a fabulous experience.
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2017
Published on: 06 September 2017
(10 out of 10)

Simon

Milton Keynes
This was a fantastic tour. Our leader, Rich, worked extremely hard to ensure we all had an excellent time. And it worked, very well.
Fantastic tour, fantastic leader, excellent holiday. Highly recommended.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 01 August 2017
Published on: 03 August 2017
(8 out of 10)

Robert

Weybridge
This is basically a very good tour but it is difficult to know how best to rate it fairly. It's definitely a better way to see the scenery than taking the train but the scenery of the Canadian Rockies - whilst occasionally breath-taking - is also much the same, i.e. a heck of a lot of lakes, forests and mountains. There is not the variety of, say, a tour of Sri Lanka or Ethiopia and the itinerary is a bit limited to lots of driving, interspersed with hiking, with only occasional opportunities to do something different (all of which I recommend taking). That said this trip does what it says in the notes and it gets to pretty well all the essential places in the region. Hotels were pretty satisfactory on the whole (except for the lousy Ramada in Vancouver).

We had a very good and jovial tour leader (Richard Smits) who was well organised and went to a lot of trouble doing shopping and providing lunches and barbecues in an effort to help us keep down the relatively high cost of meals. This was much appreciated! Richard also had to think on his feet to juggle the daily itinerary in line with the weather forecast (in view of the serious forest fires that were blazing around the area at the time) and he did this very successfully - we didn't miss much and relatively few good views were obscured by the smoke.

High spots for me were the mirror lakes off the Icefields Parkway, the mountain hike above Whistler and the whale-watching expedition in the Pacific Rim Park. We saw a reasonable variety of wild life, including bears, elk, marmots, seals and whales but getting decent photos of the bears, who were usually spotted at the side of the road - surrounded by photo-taking motorists, was a bit of a lottery. Sadly, I had a lot of low spots too because the tour bus was just about the minimum size acceptable for a tour like this. Although it had good air-conditioning and seats were ok, it was all very cramped (even though all our main luggage was in a trailer). Worst of all the bus had a very high step and a slight slip getting out on the third day caused me a slipped disc - from which I suffered for most of the rest of the holiday and am still now suffering. Be warned!

I suppose my only other issue concerns the relatively high cost of what should be a budget tour. As advised in the trip notes, be prepared to spend a small fortune on "optional" excursions (where the only other option is usually not doing very much) and gondola passes. The high cost of eating out in some fairly undistinguished restaurants is made worse by taxes and 15-20% service charges being added to all restaurant bills. All that said, my previous tours have mainly been in parts of the world where the local cost of living was low so I shouldn't be too surprised that this tour seems to represent comparatively poor value for money.

If you take an Air Transat flight the complimentary meal service is adequate, as is in-flight entertainment, but it is worth taking your own headphones (single socket).

On the whole, subject to the caveats above, this is a recommendable tour.
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2017
Published on: 06 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Rosemary

St Agnes
We had a wonderful trip, enhanced by the efforts of the tour leader Mireille, who did lovely lunches on longer trips and a great. barbecue, she had also found some out of the way places for walks and swims. Please pass on our thanks to her. Obvious highlights have to be the amazing scenery, wildlife, but also the friendliness of local people
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2017
Published on: 03 August 2017
(7 out of 10)

John

West linton
Would have liked more information on species composition of forests, W Canada history, and particularly native first nation tribes.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 29 July 2017
Published on: 02 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Susan

Dunstable
The most beautiful scenery, wildlife and a wonderful country with friendly people and a very positive outlook on their environment and all the adventures it has to offer. I wish I had tacked a few days on at the start or end, as most if our group did, just to get over jet lag and acclimatise to Canadian time!
I knew I couldn't hike for long periods, but everything optional was optional, even if the options weren't exciting! I would recommend this to anyone that wants to see western Canada, and get a taste of what it has to offer.
Confirmed traveller: 16 July 2017
Published on: 29 July 2017
(8 out of 10)

John

London
Horseriding was disappointing; rafting, kayaking excellent; scenery excellent
Confirmed traveller: 16 July 2017
Published on: 20 July 2017
(8 out of 10)

Maria

Aldershot
The description of the tour activity level as moderate is deceptive - it rapidly becomes full-on as you add optional activities. Plan for more walking than the itinerary suggests, too - trips to see lakes and waterfalls often involve a round trip of a few km, which in places may be steep. This tour is definitely not suitable for anyone with mobility problems!

However, if you are reasonably fit, the walks are beautiful and well worth the effort. There is a good balance of time in towns and cities, doing activities like rafting, cycling or wildlife watching, and time spent in the wilderness, exploring the amazing scenery on foot. Travelling from West to East as we did, there was a distinct transition from more organised activities and wildlife at the start of the tour, to more walking, lakes and waterfalls at the end. The bear-watching boat trip in Tofino was an absolute must-do, although we did also see a couple of bears in passing along the road.

The accommodation was generally good, although we were not impressed with the Pocahontas cabins, where there was a major mosquito problem. These were unhelpfully and inexplicably far out of town, making the limited restaurant opening hours a problem, and preventing any return from Jasper during the day.

Top tips - do the bear tour, even if you don't go whale watching, and take lots of sunscreen and mosquito repellent! Changing temperatures during the day make layers, and ideally trousers that can be unzipped to shorts, well worth it. We were lucky with the weather, but as you are often away from base all day, and walks can be long, with no quick return, a lightweight waterproof jacket is definitely worth having. Consider trekking pole(s) if you have trouble with uneven surfaces or hills.
Confirmed traveller: 16 July 2017
Published on: 19 July 2017