It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
608 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Rocky Mountains and the Pacific Coast RK

Visiting: Canada
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Rocky Mountains and the Pacific Coast

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Rocky Mountains and the Pacific Coast trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Rocky Mountains and the Pacific Coast reviews verified by reevooReevoo

27 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Rocky Mountains and the Pacific CoastScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 27 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Simon

Milton Keynes
This was a fantastic tour. Our leader, Rich, worked extremely hard to ensure we all had an excellent time. And it worked, very well.
Fantastic tour, fantastic leader, excellent holiday. Highly recommended.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 01 August 2017
Published on: 03 August 2017
(8 out of 10)

Robert

Weybridge
This is basically a very good tour but it is difficult to know how best to rate it fairly. It's definitely a better way to see the scenery than taking the train but the scenery of the Canadian Rockies - whilst occasionally breath-taking - is also much the same, i.e. a heck of a lot of lakes, forests and mountains. There is not the variety of, say, a tour of Sri Lanka or Ethiopia and the itinerary is a bit limited to lots of driving, interspersed with hiking, with only occasional opportunities to do something different (all of which I recommend taking). That said this trip does what it says in the notes and it gets to pretty well all the essential places in the region. Hotels were pretty satisfactory on the whole (except for the lousy Ramada in Vancouver).

We had a very good and jovial tour leader (Richard Smits) who was well organised and went to a lot of trouble doing shopping and providing lunches and barbecues in an effort to help us keep down the relatively high cost of meals. This was much appreciated! Richard also had to think on his feet to juggle the daily itinerary in line with the weather forecast (in view of the serious forest fires that were blazing around the area at the time) and he did this very successfully - we didn't miss much and relatively few good views were obscured by the smoke.

High spots for me were the mirror lakes off the Icefields Parkway, the mountain hike above Whistler and the whale-watching expedition in the Pacific Rim Park. We saw a reasonable variety of wild life, including bears, elk, marmots, seals and whales but getting decent photos of the bears, who were usually spotted at the side of the road - surrounded by photo-taking motorists, was a bit of a lottery. Sadly, I had a lot of low spots too because the tour bus was just about the minimum size acceptable for a tour like this. Although it had good air-conditioning and seats were ok, it was all very cramped (even though all our main luggage was in a trailer). Worst of all the bus had a very high step and a slight slip getting out on the third day caused me a slipped disc - from which I suffered for most of the rest of the holiday and am still now suffering. Be warned!

I suppose my only other issue concerns the relatively high cost of what should be a budget tour. As advised in the trip notes, be prepared to spend a small fortune on "optional" excursions (where the only other option is usually not doing very much) and gondola passes. The high cost of eating out in some fairly undistinguished restaurants is made worse by taxes and 15-20% service charges being added to all restaurant bills. All that said, my previous tours have mainly been in parts of the world where the local cost of living was low so I shouldn't be too surprised that this tour seems to represent comparatively poor value for money.

If you take an Air Transat flight the complimentary meal service is adequate, as is in-flight entertainment, but it is worth taking your own headphones (single socket).

On the whole, subject to the caveats above, this is a recommendable tour.
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2017
Published on: 06 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Rosemary

St Agnes
We had a wonderful trip, enhanced by the efforts of the tour leader Mireille, who did lovely lunches on longer trips and a great. barbecue, she had also found some out of the way places for walks and swims. Please pass on our thanks to her. Obvious highlights have to be the amazing scenery, wildlife, but also the friendliness of local people
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2017
Published on: 03 August 2017
(7 out of 10)

John

West linton
Would have liked more information on species composition of forests, W Canada history, and particularly native first nation tribes.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 29 July 2017
Published on: 02 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Susan

Dunstable
The most beautiful scenery, wildlife and a wonderful country with friendly people and a very positive outlook on their environment and all the adventures it has to offer. I wish I had tacked a few days on at the start or end, as most if our group did, just to get over jet lag and acclimatise to Canadian time!
I knew I couldn't hike for long periods, but everything optional was optional, even if the options weren't exciting! I would recommend this to anyone that wants to see western Canada, and get a taste of what it has to offer.
Confirmed traveller: 16 July 2017
Published on: 29 July 2017
(8 out of 10)

John

London
Horseriding was disappointing; rafting, kayaking excellent; scenery excellent
Confirmed traveller: 16 July 2017
Published on: 20 July 2017
(8 out of 10)

Maria

Aldershot
The description of the tour activity level as moderate is deceptive - it rapidly becomes full-on as you add optional activities. Plan for more walking than the itinerary suggests, too - trips to see lakes and waterfalls often involve a round trip of a few km, which in places may be steep. This tour is definitely not suitable for anyone with mobility problems!

However, if you are reasonably fit, the walks are beautiful and well worth the effort. There is a good balance of time in towns and cities, doing activities like rafting, cycling or wildlife watching, and time spent in the wilderness, exploring the amazing scenery on foot. Travelling from West to East as we did, there was a distinct transition from more organised activities and wildlife at the start of the tour, to more walking, lakes and waterfalls at the end. The bear-watching boat trip in Tofino was an absolute must-do, although we did also see a couple of bears in passing along the road.

The accommodation was generally good, although we were not impressed with the Pocahontas cabins, where there was a major mosquito problem. These were unhelpfully and inexplicably far out of town, making the limited restaurant opening hours a problem, and preventing any return from Jasper during the day.

Top tips - do the bear tour, even if you don't go whale watching, and take lots of sunscreen and mosquito repellent! Changing temperatures during the day make layers, and ideally trousers that can be unzipped to shorts, well worth it. We were lucky with the weather, but as you are often away from base all day, and walks can be long, with no quick return, a lightweight waterproof jacket is definitely worth having. Consider trekking pole(s) if you have trouble with uneven surfaces or hills.
Confirmed traveller: 16 July 2017
Published on: 19 July 2017
(8 out of 10)

Hazel

Stockport
Very fast paced tour. Breathtaking scenery from lakes to waterfalls and forests to glaciers. Our guide Mirielle was very knowledgeable about her country and has a lovely personality. She drove the bus very well and provided 4-5 lunches and picnics for us as sometimes in very remote areas. Also a most delicious stuffed pork on the BBQ served with cream and maple sauce - delicious. There was one particular cabin in Jasper that was absolutely raging with mosquitos and could not open the door for fear of being eaten alive. The cabin was also 42km from Jasper so meant that we all had to stay out for the full day. Canmore accommodation had great views of the Rockies and nice little place. Whistler hotel very central and hotel had 5 bikes for use of the guests. Also good pool and sauna. Found a good Irish bar just at the bottom of the Gondolas with live entertainment.
Final night at Calgary coincided with Stampede so streets full of Line dancers, square dancing and First Nation and Cowboys parade - Trip ended on a high note. Tips - lots of insect repellent, water bottle and lots of snacks for breakfast and for travel days. State tax 4-5% added to all bills + 17-18% service tip is usually added as standard.
Confirmed traveller: 16 July 2017
Published on: 18 July 2017
(7 out of 10)

Caroline

Tamworth
This tour covers a serious amount of ground. There are lots more hikes than the trip notes state so be prepared & bring your boots & poles. Also bring cold weather gear if you intend to do the glacier walk. Some of the hotels are in the middle of no where so I felt very stranded. This is fine in Wells gray as the whole point is to be in the middle of no where it's a national park. However when they put us a 40 minutes walk out of Victoria on a trading estate & 40 minute drive out of Jasper in a mosquito infested flea pit this was not acceptable!!
Confirmed traveller: 15 July 2017
Published on: 19 July 2017
(10 out of 10)

Peter

Farnborough
Excellent tour guide. Itinary meant we saw all the highlights and knowledge of guide meant we saw some of the lesser tourist sights which were amazing.
Confirmed traveller: 25 June 2017
Published on: 21 August 2017