It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
21 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

The Best of Western Cuba CN

Visiting: Cuba
Tour Duration 8 Days
 
Reviews for The Best of Western Cuba

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the The Best of Western Cuba tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

The Best of Western Cuba reviews verified by Reevoo

36 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
The Best of Western CubaScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 36 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Lyndon

London
Trinidad was a real highlight and it would have been fantastic to have another day there maybe with the option to go to the island and do the mountain trip.
The accommodation in Havana is perhaps not what we are used to in the UK, but hey it's Cuba, but the casa particulares was fantastic.
Confirmed traveller: 04 January 2016
Published on: 12 January 2016
(8 out of 10)

Nicola

Edi
Trinidad was great to walk around and take pictures of - so scenic and beautiful.
Bring more clothes than you need as it's so hot you sometimes have to use more than one set of clothes a day! Warm clothes not needed however.
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2016
Published on: 11 January 2016
(9 out of 10)

Julia

London
Great introduction to Cuba. Good mix of culture and relaxation. Staying in the casa particulares was the highlight, meeting local people. Tour leader, Marlon, was excellent.
Confirmed traveller: 05 January 2016
Published on: 10 January 2016
(9 out of 10)

Annastazia

Hove
I would recommend booking very early to get on the direct Virgin flights as it is a very tiring journey going via another airport. I would advise them telephoning the Explore office a couple of weeks before departure to check any updated information as most of what I was expecting had changed and I was not informed. ie: the flight carrier, the name of the tour manager, the tour name and itinerary had changed. Possibly upgrade the hotel in Havana because although the hotel was in a great location and friendly helpful staff, it was really falling to bits. Given that this is Cuba and everything is dilapidated, it was forgiven but maybe Explore should check the PIFS and RIFS as I was stuck in the lift for half an hour, fell over twice on dangerous payments and stepped in wet paint all in 24 hours of my arrival.
Confirmed traveller: 04 January 2016
Published on: 06 January 2016
(9 out of 10)

Stephen

Chelmsford
Just enjoy the whole experience & remember it's third world in most part due to the blockade, but with wonderful friendly people. There are a lot of shortages so take items like soap, shampoo, toothpaste, T shirts to give away appropriately. If you're unsure tio whom & when just ask your guide.
If you can book your own flights then avoid the inclusive Air Europa. No entertainment for the whole 9 hour journey is tedious to say the least & rubbish food. Good plane tho' !
Confirmed traveller: 23 November 2015
Published on: 31 December 2015
(7 out of 10)

Jeanie

London
This tour is not a beach holiday but for people who enjoy gentle hiking.
Confirmed traveller: 28 December 2015
Published on: 31 December 2015
(8 out of 10)

Karen

There were many highlights including the music and dancing, the vibrancy, the history, the old cars, the faded glory of the buildings in the towns we visited, i.e. Havana, Trinidad and Santa Clara.
People booking should not expect too much from the accommodation or in general the food, but the cocktails are brilliant, and we enjoyed the cocktail making class. The salsa lessons were also good fun.
Regarding the trip to Vinales, we were slightly disappointed as the trip notes states the option of a two-hour trek through the valleys, which we had been looking forward to. This did not happen, only a short walk to a small hut where the family showed us how to prepare a cigar. We did not have any option of walking amongst the mogotes. The only time we saw them was at lunch time when we had views over a beautiful valley. Our guide had already pointed out to us that this was incorrect information in the trip notes, so our recommendation is that Explore changes the notes to avoid other people being disappointed at not being able to do the trek.
We loved Trinidad, and the provincial feel about the place including all the horse and carts, the music and the vibrancy, however the Casa Particulares were far apart which made it difficult and time consuming for the group to meet up for activities.
There was a lot of confusion regarding the optional trek to Escambray Mountains. In the trip notes is described an 8 kilometre trek which five of us were intending to do. In the end that did not seem to exist, and the only trek we could do was a short trek to a waterfall/lake where you could swim if you wished to. We were told we could expect to see lots of birds but we only saw a few. Lots of other groups did the same trek and it was a bit like 'Oxford Circus'. We had been led to believe there would be 6 people in our group, but there were 20, and we kept having to give way to other groups going in the opposite direction on the circular walk. We made the most of the day, and enjoyed many aspects of it, but it was not at all what we had expected, so again perhaps the notes need to be adjusted to reflect what is on offer on this free day.
Altogether this is a great trip, and no one should be put off by the comments above, only for Explore to try to look into and perhaps adjust, so that people's expectations can be met.
Confirmed traveller: 07 December 2015
Published on: 22 December 2015
(8 out of 10)

Laura

Brighton
good itinerary, quite a lot of travelling but covers a large area.
bring soap - they all ask for it, and get small change early on to pay for using the toilets!
don't worry about the departure tax mentioned in the lonely planet - you don't need to pay it.
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2015
Published on: 18 December 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Good: The budget advice in the trip notes is about right but if you like music take extra cash because the bands who play in restaurants and bars all want to sell you their CDs and some of them are excellent. Not so good: when checking in to the hotel in Havana, ask for a room away from the building which is being renovated across the street. The work went on until 0130!
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2014
Published on: 11 December 2015