It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
546 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Backroads and Beaches of Cuba CN

Visiting: Cuba
Tour Duration 8 Days
 
Reviews for Backroads and Beaches of Cuba 4.5 out of 5 based on 17 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Backroads and Beaches of Cuba tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
5 Elena P, 24/04/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

One of the best holidays I have been on. The tour lead was brilliant and went out of his way for us. A fantastic group who clicked really well from the start. Cuba is a fascinating place - the locals are really friendly and I never felt unsafe or uncomfortable. A ride in the old cars in Havana is a definite must!

Read more
 
4.5 km, 16/03/15

Please Review Your Overall Experience And What Your Highlights Were

Havana, the Vinales area, and Trinidad were amazing. Che's mausoleum with the museum about him were excellent.

 

Read more
 
4.5 Marilynne Gardiner, 03/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Dinner in Sol Ananda in Trinidad with the rain rushing past the window in torrents and the wonderful live music playing. Sums the whole place up for me.

Go soon before it changes.

Read more
 
5 Michael John Harrington , 19/09/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Four highlights:1. Meeting the farming family in Vinales; 2. Che's mausoleum - everything you'd expect; 3. the open top vintage car tour of Havana and finally the tour group itself - we had some good fun!

Read more
 
5 Liz Wills, 02/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Walking in the countryside around Vinales. The visit to the tobacco farm and watching a cigar being rolled was quite special. Also the Salsa lesson in Trinidad was a lot of fun and the ride around Havana on our last night in old American vehicles was memorable!

Read more
 
5 Rosemary Washbrook, 04/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

 

Read more
 
5 Claire, 04/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Arriving in Havana on a Sunday afternoon and driving through quiet streets, seeing the beautiful, striking buildings and wonderful old cars. A photographer's paradise. Snorkelling off Cayo Blanco in turquoise water, with amazingly colourful fish. Sampling the delicious cocktails. Meeting a wonderful group of travelling companions.

Read more
 
4.5 , 01/01/14

Name

Carolyn

Tour Name

Back roads and beaches of Cuba

Tour Code

CN

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

For me, 3 highlights. 1. Swimming in the beautiful clear waters of the bay of Pigs on Xmas day. 2. The fiesta in Trinidad. 3. On our last night our tour guide arranged for us to drive around Havana in Classic American convertibles.

Tour Leader Name

Rene

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Couldn't have done more for the group. He was excellent and sorted out every issue immediately. Very knowledgeable and helpful. There were some long drives on the trip but he kept us all entertained and the journeys were all part of the experience.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Be prepared for some long journeys by private bus, but they're worthwhile to experience the diversity of the western side of the island. Go armed with insect repellant, sunscreen, and hand gel, but most importantly with spare toiletries that you can give to the locals. I have never before been asked for soap by kids in the street.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

This is a great trip as an intro to this fascinating country. I am well travelled but I have never before been inspired to read up about a country's history as a follow up. Will definitely return.

 
4.5 , 06/12/13

Name

Sue

Tour Name

Backroads and beaches

Tour Code

CN

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Going to the "Fiesta" in Trinidad. The vibrancy of the music and the dancing was wonderful. The sights, sounds, history and geography of the island were also totally gripping. I loved it all!!!

Tour Leader Name

Rene

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Great. As a first time single "Explore"traveller I was a little nervous but it soon became obvious that I needn't have been. Rene soon got a "group feeling" going on the tour and I felt very comfortable with my fellow travellers. I had been worried about eating out in the evening but Rene took care of this and chose some great places to eat. His knowledge was terrific and I really felt I understood Cuba by the end of the tour.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Absorb all the experiences that come your way. It is a busy tour on some days but you will see loads. Be prepared for a couple of quite long coach journeys - they are worth it for what you will see. Food wise go along with what your guide suggests as you will have lots of different interesting experiences. Read up on the history.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

I will be travelling again with you. I've got the bug!!!!

 
4.5 , 06/12/13

Name

Rose

Tour Name

Backroads and Beaches Of Cuba

Tour Code

CN

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

There were so many memorable moments that to pack one is impossible. Loved the walk through the tobacco farms, was great to see the people in the country and be able to talk to them. fantastic beaches, beautiful country so green was not expecting the lush scenery.

Tour Leader Name

Rene

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Our Team Leader Rene, was brilliant. He could not have done another thing for us. He had a host of history and general knowledge about his country and looked after everyone so well. We were a mixed age group and no one was left out our feeling negelected. Well done Rene. Also a word for out great bus driver Pepe, he was great, staying with the bus so we could leave our belongings there when we went exploring, that was a great idea.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Please bring extra tooth paste and soap as they really dont have enough in the countryside and it is great to be able to give it to them. Do use sun screen as even on cloudy days you do burn. Bring long sleeved loose or light top or blouse for extra hot days then you dont worry about burning. apart from that enjoy.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

"The second hotel/camp site we stayed at was on the point of being really good, just need a little bit of maintance and spruceing up. gaps under doors, loose air conditioners, very small things which would not take long to complete. Also everywhere we ate, the gave far too much food, dont need soup, salad and dinner, I would rather just have soup in middle of day and then just the dinner at night. It was such a waste of food when so many there had nothing. Felt really guilty with all the waste. Saying that all the restaurance we ate at the standard was really good and I actually put on weight!!!! normally would loose half stone or so in two weeks. "

 
4.5 , 06/12/13

Name

Lisa

Tour Name

Backroads and Beaches of Cuba

Tour Code

CN

Tour Leader Name

Rene

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Brilliant, intelligent, insightful, he made the trip for us

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Essential kit: anti-bacterial handwash, tissues (loo roll sometimes in short supply), sun cream, anti mossie cream. Bring spare toiletries as gifts - make-up, toothpaste, shaving kit, nice soap, shampoo etc. basic painkillers.Read up about the history before you come.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

We feel inspired and cannot wait for the next one.

 
4 , 15/08/13

Name

Clare

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The tour guide.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Our tour leader was FANTASTIC! So friendly, helpful, patient, funny & knowledgeable. Hearing what he had to say played a huge part in it being a great tour.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Take loo roll & hand sanitizer!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

We were also very lucky to have a great driver.

 
2 Claudine Sauvetre, 10/04/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Perfect weather

Read more
Our Response

We agree Cuban accommodation is not the best; the economic sanctions reduce not just the availability of materials to replace worn out equipment, but also the opportunities for Cubans to acquire the training and skills necessary to provide a good standard of maintenance.  There is however no reason why rooms cannot be thoroughly cleaned, and this we are following up via our agent.

 
4 Mark Woodbridge, 17/01/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

An excellent dinner (and cocktails!) at the Hotel Nacional de Cuba on the final night of our tour.

Read more
 
0 Val Kamruddin, 14/06/11
Nothing prepares you for the amazing reality of Cuba. From the initial wow factor of 1950's cars on the streets of Havana and the crumbling colonial Spanish architecture, you soon realise there is more to this than meets the eye. This tour is a good first visit and an eye opener to the truth that lies beneath the surface of this beautiful island. This is like no other Caribbean island, it is still stuck in the legacy of Castro's Glorious Revolution and the people suffer. I wish I had taken more clothes and toiletries to give away. Everyone we met was warm and friendly and you soon feel that it's the music that welds everyone together, the music was terrific wherever we went, the Latino culture is so vibrant. Yes go now and you will want to return as I do, and read Cuba and the Night by Pico Iyer which will tell you the truth beneath the surface. (CN - 10th April 2011)
 
0 Mala Singh, 29/12/10
Just the best holiday ever - all the right ingredients - a fascinating location, a great group of travelling companions and an amazing tour leader who understood us, instinctively knew what we wanted and ensured that we got it. The highlight for me was learning more about the recent history of the country - and meeting and chatting to cubans. (CN - 13th November 2010)
 
0 Paul Bondsfield, 17/09/10
Everything you expect Cuba to be and then some. Colonial architecture, old cars, rum, cigars, white sand beaches, lush countryside, passionate people. Great group too - gelled quickly and became good friends by day 2. A tour to get under the skin of a fascinating country. (CN- 12th January 2007)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA