It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

The Best of Western Cuba CN

Visiting: Cuba
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for The Best of Western Cuba

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the The Best of Western Cuba trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

The Best of Western Cuba reviews verified by reevooReevoo

81 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
The Best of Western CubaScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 81 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Sarah

Berkshire
Our visit was at an historic time so we saw Cuba from a different view point. Group was fun to be with and overall we saw everything we needed to.
Confirmed traveller: 05 December 2016
Published on: 08 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Johanna

Gret Missenden
I can't rate this trip highly enough.
Loved the vintage car ride through Havana and the boat trip to Iguana island.(yes there are loads of iguanas)
There is so much to list all I can say is' just go' and enjoy the music and mohitos!
Confirmed traveller: 21 November 2016
Published on: 26 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Angela

Midlands
Great tour which covered so many highlights of Cuba in the time we had. The tour guide Thalia was brilliant, very knowledgeable and very good English, all delivered with a good sense of humour, and a good balance of information of Cuban history, culture, tips for day to day needs. There was a mix of activities including city walking tours, gentle country treks, and opportunies for salsa dancing, cocktail making and a dip in the Caribbean. Meals were in a variety of restaurants and standard was high. The hotel Sevilla in Havana was typically Cuban and was centrally located. The three night stay in the Casa in Trinidad was a wonderful experience, living right in the heart of the town community. The bus trip between Havana and Trinidad was unavoidably long but broken by interesting stops such as the Caribbean beach bar and the Che museum. On our last day in Havana we managed a trip in a convertible, purple Pontiac. Highly recommend this! Also a trip on a bicycle taxi took us down narrow back streets which we would otherwise have missed. Overall a fantastic holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 21 November 2016
Published on: 23 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Angela

Leek
Thalia our guide was brilliant

A varied itinerary which provided a look at authentic life in a Cuba

I learnt a lot about Cuba ....it's a fascinating place & this itinerary & Thalia expressed this very well.
Confirmed traveller: 21 November 2016
Published on: 23 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Lynda

Gosport
This was my first “Explore” holiday and I travelled solo, therefore I went very much with an open mind. Our group was small (9 people) but this worked well; we all got on great and stuck together, even during free time.

The tour gave a good overview of Cuba, although at times did appear to be an educational trip of Cuban history 1950’s to present day! Although a knowledge of the history helped to understand present day Cuba, I personally could have done with a little less!

Havana is a vibrant amazing place, and the one day there worked well. I loved Vinalles, the countryside is lush but unique, maybe due to the red tobacco fields. The local guide we had for this day was great. Although we saw all there was to see in one day, I would have loved the opportunity to have overnighted here, the Casas looked beautiful. (The tour notes had described this as a trek, but more of a stroll, which was fine in 30 degrees +!)

The journey to the south of Cuba worked well with our first swim in the Caribbean and the Cenote being standout highlights.

I loved Trinidad but feel that this should have been extended to 3 days, day one was spent exploring the town, by day 2 I was ready for some chill/beach time, but this meant that I missed the trip to the mountains which according to others in our group was THE highlight of the holiday.

The return journey to Havana was long and boring, the only really stop being in Santa Clara, which although was interesting, I could have done without.

The Seville Hotel in Havana, was well placed and perfectly adequate! The first Casa I was allocated in Trinidad was awful, however I was moved that same evening, into a wonderful one, where I had a spacious, modern room with a lovely family.

Although the tour states 8 days, it is actually only 6; we met at 08.30 on the Monday morning, and the tour ended at 17.00 on the Saturday.

In summary of the above I had a great time, I loved Cuba and would look to book with Explore again, although would be careful to read between the lines and to consider extending the holiday at either (or both) ends.
Confirmed traveller: 24 October 2016
Published on: 31 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Jeremy

Southampton
A great tour, gentle pace, lots to see, some great sites and it's a bit like going back in time.
Ensure you pack medicine for your tummy, all our group went down with the Cuba cramps!

slight down side - tipping was excessively high to the local guides, a months 'local wages' for a 2 hr trek was crazy.

The trips in Trinidad are very expensive, 55 Cuc for a 4 hr trek in the rainforest to see a waterfall!

When budgeting for the tour work on at least 50 Cuc a day without excursions.
Confirmed traveller: 10 October 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Sara

action packed and varied,this gave a great insight to Cuba,helped greatly by local guide,Talia.
The combination of a lovely hotel in Havana and a couple's home in Trinidad worked perfectly.
there was even time for 3 swims and snorkelling in the Caribbean sea. perfect!
Confirmed traveller: 22 August 2016
Published on: 14 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Julie

maidstone
Great itinerary - full of insight into a fascinating country.
Highlights were Vinhales area and staying in the Casa in Trinidad
would have liked to do both optional excursions - and had a little more free time. two more days would have been perfect.
Confirmed traveller: 22 August 2016
Published on: 02 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Patrick

Cambridgeshire
Not got time for this
Confirmed traveller: 22 August 2016
Published on: 02 September 2016

Hi Patrick, while I'm delighted your trip to Cuba scored so highly, I'm sorry you're unhappy with our request for feedback. We genuinely want to hear your feedback, but we're conscious that your time is precious so we do try and keep the questions to a minimum! Nevertheless, I hope that potential customers will be encouraged by your overall rating.

(8 out of 10)

Pip and mike

Cheshire
Absolutely loved this trip and would love to go back to Cuba. Not quite enough walking for us and would have liked the itinerary to have been broader. This is a short trip and you feel like you get to places and have 20 mins to look around and some of the drives are looonnng! Had an absolutely amazing excursion on our free day to the Escambray mountains - what a day. I cannot rate our local tour guide highly enough. Nothing was too much trouble for Thalia and she had endless energy and perfect English. The people that we met in Cuba were so warm and friendly and we all found the country fascinating. The music and cocktails seem to play a huge part in Cuban lifestyle and you really feel able to absorb some of this on the holiday. Food was pretty dire throughout the country but hey they made up for it many other ways. Trinidad is quite an experience. Next time we want to do the longer trip.
Confirmed traveller: 21 August 2016
Published on: 05 October 2016