It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
590 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

The Best of Western Cuba CN

Visiting: Cuba
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for The Best of Western Cuba

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the The Best of Western Cuba trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

The Best of Western Cuba reviews verified by Reevoo

66 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
The Best of Western CubaScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 66 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Zoe

London
In general great but a bit to slow in pace for a 30 year old at times I.e. The walks proposed are not very sportive and too short; and a bit too much time spent in the bus especially on the way back from Trinidad to havana (over 6hours even with short breaks) and that same evening we got back in the bus to tour some of Havana. It would best less sedentary. So I would suggest offering always 2 options for the walks a short easy version and long more strenuous one for the sporty people. And cut the bus trip back to Havana to include even dinner somewhere. Thanks.
Confirmed traveller: 30 May 2016
Published on: 03 June 2016
(6 out of 10)

Nicholas

I thought the tour was ok, but felt that more could have been included in the itinerary.
There are too many days spent in Trinidad, where another destination could have been visited and the trek in the Vinales countryside really shouldn't take place at 2:00!
The hotel Sevilla was satisfactory and what we expected from Cuba in terms of needing renovating, but really shown up by the quality of the casa particulares in Trinidad; with wonderful hosts as well.
Cuba itself is stunning and we would certainly recommend to anyone.
Marlon was a great tour guide, full of great information and we left the trip knowing a lot more about Cuban history.
Confirmed traveller: 30 May 2016
Published on: 04 June 2016

We appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us for your recent trip, we’re sorry you feel a little disappointed with your overall experience. We do receive mixed feedback in regards to the time spent in Trinidad, as others feel the time spent is one of the highlights of the trip. We’ve also passed your comments on to our Operations Manager in regards to the trek in Vinales and the accommodation provided – this will be taken into consideration for future trips.

(8 out of 10)

Kara

A really good trip that covered a lot of ground and gave a really good feel for Cuba. The walking tours of Trinidad and Havana were good to orientate us, and the cocktail making and salsa lesson provided plenty of giggles. Trinidad itself and the welcoming and friendly casa particular were highlights, along with the day trip to Cayo Blanco.

Some long driving days, however, and it was very hot in Vinales as we did the walk during the heat of the day.
Confirmed traveller: 30 May 2016
Published on: 12 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Graham

Bishops Stortford
Learned and experienced a great deal about Cuban life.
Confirmed traveller: 16 May 2016
Published on: 24 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Kenneth

Horsham
Outstanding tour of an island locked in a1950's time warp. People very welcoming, American vintage cars stunning, a blaze of colour everywhere !!
Confirmed traveller: 16 May 2016
Published on: 25 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Janet

Margate
The trip was well organised , the guide was great , very knowledgable and friendly . A good balance between organised and free time .

The only thing that was slightly disappointing about the tour was the stay n the Casa . The accommodation was fine but the hosts didn't engage with us much at all. Aldo , the father was great , very friendly and welcoming but we only saw him once during our stay . The rest of the family were definitely not as welcoming and only saw them when they served breakfast and there was no conversation .
Confirmed traveller: 18 April 2016
Published on: 21 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Helen

Stockton on tees
Great holiday - only problem was taxi that Explore booked to transfer us to Airport refused to take the 3 of us ( family) said we should of been split and one travel in another car. Stand off ensued. The other taxi had left and he refused to transfer us to airport unless one person got out ! Hotel staff were not helpful. When I offered a 20 cuc note he agreed to take us. Rip off capitalism arrives in Cuba.
Confirmed traveller: 18 April 2016
Published on: 21 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Maria

Hong Kong
I quite liked the accommodations in Trinidad. Emiliana and Martin's casa particular was very clean and fresh-smelling. Our room was cleaned everyday and our towels were always new. The breakfast was excellent. And, the family was very warm, welcoming and helpful. I rate them a 10+.

On the other hand, Hotel Sevilla in Havana is in dire need of renovation. The WC overflowed. However, I must stress that the staff was very efficient in responding and cleaning up at 11 in the evening!

Kudos and many thanks to our Explore Leader Rene for the excellent itinerary, his attention to detail, and the history lessons! Many thanks as well to Joel for his warmth and excellent driving skills. These two gentlemen did a great job! I had a great time. Much, much appreciated.
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2016
Published on: 26 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Victoria

Isle of Wight
What an amazing tour from start to finish. Our tour guide Thalia was brilliant, and made the experience unforgettable with her passion for her country and good sense of humour. Nothing was ever too much trouble, and she was always able to arrange things at short notice, eg. the tour in the convertible cars on the last day.

The hotel Sevilla was in an excellent location for central Havana, and the breakfast was huge and variable to cater for all tastes. Our room was massive overlooking the main road, with efficient air conditioning.

Cocktail making and salsa dancing was hilarious. You definitely need to make the cocktails first, to get you in the mood for the dancing. By the way, they don't measure the rum in the drinks!

Trinidad was by far the best part of the trip for me. We loved the Casa and the family we stayed with. Every night I sat out on the front porch with them, we chatted and watched the world pass by. It was like you had stepped back in time. Horse and carts, bicycle taxis, old US cars - such a mixture.

We booked a tour to Cayo Blanco and saw some beautiful fish, including a marbled ray when we snorkelled .

The climate was very hot, so you don't need any jumpers on the whole trip.
I would advise changing money at the airport just outside of arrivals when you land. The hotel does change money, at a slightly higher rate.
Keep lots of change for tips. The Cuban people are not paid much, so their lives depend on tips. 25 cents for the toilet, 1 or 2 CUC for the live music in restaurants is about right.

Expect the unexpected, and prepare to be flexible and you will enjoy this trip. Don't expect European standards in hotels, just go with the flow. The Cuban people are very chilled and laid back. I will always have many special memories of Cuba that I will treasure forever.
Confirmed traveller: 04 April 2016
Published on: 06 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Dianne

London
A great insight into Cuba, highlights being the walking around the old towns of Havana and Trinidad, the beach swimming and island snorkelling, the music and cocktails ( including our lessons in cocktail- making and salsa) and the last- day ride in a convoy of 50's convertibles. Accommodation at the Sevilla Hotel was dilapidated and dirty and the reception staff surly- a much warmer and cleaner welcome at out casa particulaire. Most of the food, unless you like shellfish was bland and disappointing and over- priced at some of the very touristy restaurants we were taken to. I would have preferred more options of where to eat. The tour felt rushed and I'd have appreciated an extra few days as our group was only just beginning to gell by the end of it. Our guide Thalia was excellent In terms of her caring nature and personality and her willingness to make extra efforts on our behalf. However I sometimes found her presentation of information disjointed and difficult to follow especially if not seated at the front of our coach.
Confirmed traveller: 04 April 2016
Published on: 06 April 2016