It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
626 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Botswana Wildlife Safari BW

Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Botswana Wildlife Safari

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Botswana Wildlife Safari trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Botswana Wildlife Safari reviews verified by reevooReevoo

86 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Botswana Wildlife SafariScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 86 reviews
(8 out of 10)

James

Northampton
This trip is definitely not for the feint hearted. If you are prepared to be tossed around in the back of a Land Cruiser like a ping pong ball in a searingly hot tumble dryer and then subjected to cold nights under canvass then you could well be rewarded with some of the best game viewing sub Saharan Africa has to offer. I have travelled most African countries for more years than I care to remember but this has been one of the most memorable. The diversity of the game and the prolific birdlife on the Chobe river provided for an enjoyable trip.
Make sure you get Bibi as your guide ,his abilities and expertise are second to none.
Confirmed traveller: 03 September 2017
Published on: 09 September 2017
(10 out of 10)

Pattie

London
Thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Would have liked another day in Zambia as there was so much to do there and probably one day less camping. Solly was a great tour leader, he found so many animals for us. The two who looked after us on the camp site were excellent and the food was great.
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2017
Published on: 16 September 2017
(9 out of 10)

Helen

Middlesbrough
The highlight was the safari rides.
Tips - bring something to cover your face on the morning trips as lips can get cracked from the cold.
Don't bring good clothes as everything gets dusty and dirty when camping.
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2017
Published on: 02 September 2017
(10 out of 10)

Dorothy

Inverurie, Aberdeenshire
The trip was fantastic! We saw so much and so many animals and birds! At 67 I wondered if I would be up to it as some days we did a lot of travelling on some pretty rough roads but it was fine. The camping was not my cup of tea but I was happy to do it to experience this trip. My favourites were the giraffes and we saw many but the highlight for me was seeing four wild dogs thundering towards us - but totally oblivious of us - in pursuit of a kill. Three seconds and they were gone! Amazing! My tip is to make sure you have enough charged batteries for your camera and wear layers of clothing.
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2017
Published on: 02 September 2017
(6 out of 10)

Robert

Melbourne
I would encourage people to go to Botswana but would recommend spending a bit more money to get a better experience. The vehicle used was unsuitable for the high speed road work involved being too cold and windy and unsuitable for the off road experience as visibility was too restricted by the roof frame. Camping was okay apart from the lack of "proper" toilet mentioned in the notes. A proper toilet flushes, it is not a hole in the ground.
Confirmed traveller: 26 August 2017
Published on: 03 September 2017
(10 out of 10)

Jacqueline

Crawley
This was a brilliant tour with so many highlights: drifting down the Okavango listening to birdsong and elephants browsing ; San rock art in the Kalahari; seeing a kill as soon as we entered Chobe National Park; juvenile male elephants mock fighting; elephants swimming; young giraffes sparring; wild camping under starlit skies surrounded by the sounds of the bush; hippos, lions, hyenas and leopards to name a few. Victoria falls viewed from both Zambia and Zimbabwe- two countries in one day!

Every day was packed with up-close encounters-including two separate sightings of wild dogs - one large pack in their den with pups and a second group hunting, shadowed by a hyena. The long drives were well worth it and pitching camp in four different locations meant we saw a variety of landscapes and wildlife. Solomon was a great tour leader with a real knack for tracking. Douglas and Bofana provided great food in camp, tea and coffee with muffins baked on an open fire and plentiful hot water for a bucket shower every afternoon. The sunsets were spectacular too!

Go with an open mind and a sense of humour - plus a good head torch - and a light to hang in the tent as early starts meant packing in the dark! The nights were chilly and sleeping bags provided of variable quality so take something warm. I had a fantastic time. Despite some reservations about simple camping before I went, the seven nights in the bush made the trip for me. Not sure how I will top it.
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2017
Published on: 17 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

David

London
We could not have asked to see a greater variety of wildlife than we did. Too many wildlife highlights to mention. There were some long, bumpy rides through uninspiring scenery but the destinations made up for this. Bibi was an excellent guide : hardworking, knowledgeable, resourceful, calm in sometimes difficult situations and cheerful. The support staff worked hard and produced great food in limited circumstances. All in all a great trip.

Tips :

- The optional walking safari in Zambia is particularly recommended, as it is the only
chance to walk near the animals and is the only opportunity to see rhino.

- Be aware of the $50 visa fee for Zambia.

- If you are going during the Botswana winter (May-August), be sure to take some warm
clothes for the early morning starts and the evening camps.

- Take loo wipes for the camp toilets.

- Be prepared for your clothes to be full of sand in the camps.

- Be prepared for your luggage to suffer damage in the trailer - some of the roads are
terrible.

- No need to bother with antimalarials during the winter - I didn't hear one mosquito.

-If you have a transit in South Africa, some rand are useful for buying coffees etc although they take dollars.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 06 August 2017
Published on: 12 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Janet

Lewes
It was a really great trip and our guide, BiBi, was excellent in every way. The three days on the houseboat were lovely, a very peaceful interlude with much to see. The food was super, and facilities good.
The two nights at the Waterfront were very comfortable indeed and the Victoria Falls memorable.
The seven nights on the camping safari were magical. BiBi managed to find us much to see every day. It was hard to imagine that the previous day's sightings could be bettered but they often were. I appreciate that there was no guarantee that we would see the 'Big Five' but we did, in fact we saw five different leopards and two kills. The camping facilities were more than adequate and BiBi and his team made sure we were comfortable and well fed. How our cook managed to prepare such varied, satisfying meals of consistently high quality on an open fire showed incredible skill. Always cheerful, they had our tents ready for us when we arrived at camp and broke camp efficiently each time we moved on.
The highlights, amongst many great experiences, were watching Alpha male and female wild dogs at their den with their pups, seeing elephants swim across to an island, two giraffes fighting, a walking safari with rhinos and observing hyenas and wild dogs at a zebra kill while the leopard watched from above.
However, the person ultimately responsible for the success of our holiday was BiBi. He was thorough in his preparation and able to cope confidently with any eventuality. I always felt 100% confident despite an altercation with an angry bull elephant and our vehicle getting stuck in water. He really was absolutely fantastic and made our trip so special. He worked very hard all the time but clearly loved his job and is dedicated to preserving the animals and showing them to us.
Confirmed traveller: 06 August 2017
Published on: 10 August 2017
(8 out of 10)

Mike

Oxfordshire
Great animal experiences and real value for money - the houseboat was lovely, the camping a memorable experience and the hotels good. The Victoria Falls were brilliant - but 2 hours inadequate for getting the full experience!
The compromise was the transport. The Toyota 'Land-Cruiser' may have been OK for the safari, but an open vehicle travelling at 120 kph on a chilly/cold morning was not enjoyable. Even with blankets it was extremely uncomfortable - and bouncy! With 12 people someone always had to travel in the cab - three had to be bounced around on the back seat and the two at the front had limited foot space. In my opinion the vehicle was unsuitable for use throughout the whole trip. (But I realise that cost would have been far greater if various vehicles were involved.)
For a July trip take warm clothes, thermal gloves and hat, a scarf, fleece, and down gilet. A torch is essential, wet-wipes, binocilars, spare camera batteries, silk liners for the sleeping bag and a good-sized towel.
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2017
Published on: 03 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Hilary

Bedfordshire
My first time to Africa and had a fabulous time. Saw everything I wanted to see and more. Yes, there are long, dusty, 'bucking bronco' type road trips but it is all forgotten when you see wild animals almost within touching distance. I found our guide, Bibi, to be competent and knowledgeable, and went out of his way to enable us to see extraordinary things, such as a cheetah. If you can't do without your luxuries, choose another trip. If you have ever had the smallest desire to see African wild animals up close and in their natural environment, just book this tour! It is so worth it. I chose to do the walking with rhino optional excursion in Zambia, and the Chobe River excursion and both were well worth doing.
Confirmed traveller: 23 July 2017
Published on: 29 July 2017