It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
592 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Botswana Wildlife Safari BW

Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Botswana Wildlife Safari

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Botswana Wildlife Safari trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Botswana Wildlife Safari reviews verified by Reevoo

45 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Botswana Wildlife SafariScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 45 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Andrew

Dunfermline
A fantastic tour! - Bibi is an excellent tour leader. Got very close the the wildlife and saw some incredible sights.

The days on the houseboat are mostly relaxed and a gentle introduction to the wildlife of the area. Victoria Falls are impressive and the optional rhino walk is well worth doing. The week of camping in Chobe National Park and Moremi Game Reserve is incredible. So many fantastic wildlife encounters. So many elephants, giraffes, zebras, hippos and too many birds to count. Good sightings of lions, leopards and wild dogs too.

The hotels in Maun and Livingstone are fine, with the Livingstone one being especially nice. Food service in the Sedia in Maun is pretty awful.

When camping, the tents are perfectly adequate and the bucket shower was better than expected! Food throughout was fine, not always much choice, but what we had was tasty and usually plentiful.

Some long days in the vehicle. Some VERY bumpy roads. Little opportunity for any form of exercise, very few places where even a walk was possible.
Confirmed traveller: 03 July 2016
Published on: 15 July 2016
(9 out of 10)

Stefan

Cornwall
Wonderful from start to finish. The only thing explore could do to improve it is to exchange the camp site where we stayed for just one night to a simple lodge. Building and striking camp for just one night was a big task. Our tour leader was first class in every way but we felt an awful lot of responsibility and pressure is put upon him.... Driving, shopping, guiding, camp management, people management and cooking. He worked tirelessly to ensure we all had the best possible experience. An unforgettable tour.
Confirmed traveller: 02 July 2016
Published on: 07 July 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Difficult to pick an individual highlight as there were so many, from the many wildlife experiences to the banter with the fellow capers. We were lucky enough to have numerous big cat sightings from the smallest of Lion clubs to the most photogenic of Leopard. Although no bird watchers we also found the huge array from the biggest to smallest of birds hard to resist. Overall the group we travelled with added significantly to our enjoyment.
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2015
Published on: 15 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Ruth

Peterborough Canada
Cots are quite saggy. Could stand refurbishing . Tent closures were usually less than adequately . Seat belts didn't always work. They are needed on the rough roadshows
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 10 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

David

warwickshire
This is definitely an adventure holiday, it is billed a " busy" but is more than that, you need a degree of resilience to enjoy the trip. We probably travelled about 2000km in the back of a Safari Truck over African roads and tracks, some days there were lots of insects, others high temperatures, there will be no lodge pool to chill out in during the midday siesta. We had a afternoon thunder storm that soaked everything in the camp then had to sleep in closed tents, we were still loaded on the truck by 7 am next day.
We all enjoyed it greatly.
Confirmed traveller: 07 April 2016
Published on: 08 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This trip was amazing - there are so many highlights: wonderful wildlife viewing opportunities (including the Big 5 and the Ugly 5!), great accommodation throughout the trip, awesome bush camping, Victoria Falls, Southern White Rhino, Okavango Delta and staying on the houseboat, Chobe River Trip, etc. All wonderful.
Confirmed traveller: 05 December 2015
Published on: 04 April 2016
(2 out of 10)

Gillian

Kings Lynn
Plenty of game but too many Kms and condition of tents, chairs,tables and washing facilities very poor, looked like ex army surplus........
No need for yellow fever vaccination.
Too hot in October, more in depth health questionnaire to make sure guest's are fit enough to travel and a warning that you could be in Jeeps for up to 9 hours a day on rough tracks before paying deposit, not a holiday for the faint hearted. Not enough refreshments stops on route
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 09 December 2015

Thank you for your review.

We’re disappointed to hear about the condition of the camping equipment, especially as these are usually replaced seasonally – we have asked our local agent to address this immediately. Although we do agree that there are large portions of driving during the trip, we do note this in our trip notes and we will break this up as much as possible with places to visit and toilet/food stops.

(8 out of 10)

Melinda

Surrey
The 3 day houseboat excursion was a definite high-lite - beautiful setting! Loved listening to the grunting hippos at night outside my window. Spectacular bird watching along the delta as well. The accommodation in Livingstone was fantastic (Waterfront Lodge)! Highly recommend the elephant ride optional excursion...

As a Canadian, I love camping and the 2nd week of this tour is spent doing exactly that. I would suggest that the camp chairs be replaced as they are quite worn and uncomfortable. As the only furniture to rest on between safari drives (other than the narrow camp cot), it might be an idea to give the guests something better than narrow canvas metal fold out chairs with no back support. Also, if you are contemplating doing this trip, the camping is very very basic and you will get quite dirty. You only have access to a quick bucket shower each day so be prepared. If camping isn't your thing then I would suggest NOT doing this trip.

Bibi was our tour guide and is an excellent driver. His social skills could use improvement as he got quite agitated and sharp with our group when it wasn't called for. He seemed to get frustrated a lot. His English was not that clear even though he has been a guide since 1993(?). He did work very hard to make sure everyone was satisfied and went above and beyond to get me a sheet for my sleeping bag! He was also very understanding when I brought up some concerns about a member of our group. The camp staff were excellent and very thorough. Great food!

I would suggest that Explore do a more thorough medical check for anyone wanting to book this trip. People over the age of 70 should have to prove their ability to withstand the long, bumpy drives and busy schedule. You do move to different locations frequently which means packing up your suitcase/bag and carrying it around every 2 days while camping. We had a 73 year old in our group that really struggled as she was travelling on her own and was constantly needing assistance.

The wildlife viewing was superb and we saw almost every animal. Lots of exciting moments on the game drives. Managed to see rhino on the flight over the delta at the end of the trip. This is an optional excursion but I recommend strongly that people book this.

Overall, an amazing, unforgettable trip!
Confirmed traveller: 31 October 2015
Published on: 07 December 2015
(9 out of 10)

Phillip

Peterborough
We went to see wildlife and we saw plenty, the highlights for me were the two sightings of Leopard.
My tip is take a GOOD camaera, you'll regret it if you don't
Confirmed traveller: 24 October 2015
Published on: 04 December 2015