It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
549 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Botswana Wildlife Safari BW

Tour Duration 15 Days
  • Leopard, Botswana
  • Elephant, Chobe NP
  • Incredible view over Victoria Falls
  • King of the beasts
  • Meeting the local people
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Busy
  • Tour Comfort: Simple
 

Book now!

31 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Botswana Wildlife Safari tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 , 04/12/13

Name

Sue Collins

Tour Name

Botswana Wildlife Safari

Tour Code

BW

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Many memorable moments, watching rhinos mud wallowing (optional rhino walk $40), leopard and cheetah close encounters, hearing lions roar day and night. Chobe river trip. Every day was special.

Tour Leader Name

Solomon

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Solomon was great, his driving and tracking skills second to none. He enthused the group with his own love of game spotting.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Easy to obtain visa at Zambia border do the optional rhino walk in Zambia. Re-charge batteries in Zambia, UK style plugs, be prepared for very bumpy game drives; our warm clothing not needed in November

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Houseboat stay was lovely, both relaxing and exciting. Bird spotters' delight. Meals on board very good. Camping was fun and again good food provided. All in all a photographers' delight.

 
6 , 04/10/13

Name

Mark

Tour Code

BW

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The highlight for me was the 8 nights camping under the stars with the sound of the animals around us. In Chobe big herds of elephants were everywhere but we also encountered lions, a leopard, hippos and numerous other wildlife. Finding a serval right next to the track in Moremi was also a highlight. The campsite at the Kwai river was very scenic.

Tour Leader Name

Soloman

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

"Soloman was very good. He was generally very personable but could have spent more time with the customers in the camp sites and given a little more information. Sometimes he was a little sharp with people (sometimes for good reason).Soloman guided us through the various borders and briefed us each day as well as driving us between locations and on game drives so he was very busy. His driving was very good. He did seem in too much of a hurry to get back to Maun on the last day which was dissapointing. The cook and assistant worked very hard as they also packed up then moved and reset up the campsites every 2 days."

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

"Most places will accept pounds as well as dollars. Change around $60 per person in Maun. We put $35 each into the tips kitty. When crossing back into Botswana change enough for your shopping and buy plenty of supplies for the camping part of the trip (water/wine/treats). No opportunity to stock up afterwards. There is a good supermarket. UK plugs could be used in Livingstone. No problem with insects in August and we were hardly bitten. A fleece a windproof jacket and head and face protection is needed for morning drives between the locations. Showers and loos are pretty basic. There were loo stops at the various park gates for those in need. Everyone was advised to do the boat trip at Chobe (extra $45 each) it was very good. "

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

"Although it was a great trip I think 2 nights on the houseboat and maybe an extra night in Livingstone would be a better mix as you arrive in Livingstone a bit late to do too much on the first day. We spent 2 nights at Serondela (Chobe) not 1 as shown in the details. This was good as there was more wildlife in Serondela than Savuti. The last full day of the trip should also be better used doing another game drive (as stated in the details) instead of heading straight back to Maun at speed and arriving before lunchtime. A slightly dissapointing end to the trip. Overall a very good trip."

 
9 , 21/09/13

Name

Denise

Tour Name

Botswana Wildlife

Tour Code

BW

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Being surrounded by elephants and lions at such close quarters, seeing a mother leopard chase a jackal trying to prey upon her cub, watching elephants and buffalo swim past us on our small launch, campfire singing, the camping experience - scary but glad I did it!!

Tour Leader Name

Solomon

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Extremely knowledgeable, friendly, courteous, patient,inspiring our respect and understanding of the wildlife and environment. He dealt with emergencies calmly, confidently and expertly - such as a puncture in the reserve after just leaving a pride of lions, and seeing off a herd of elephants about to enter our camp after lunch!

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Be prepared for cold early mornings and dusty drives- gloves,snood/scarf, hats. Take plenty of camera batteries and a car charger.Tourist shopping at Maun on the last day is good- so save some pulas.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Apart from the awesomeness of camping in the African bush and seeing the most magnificent birds and animals ever, the friendship and companionship of our fellow travellers made this holiday very special. Wonderful to have 2 weeks of life without phones, TVs or laptops!

 
8 , 10/09/13

Name

Terence

Tour Code

BW

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Sitting by the camp fire, listening to the noises of the night and watching the eyes reflecting in the torch light watch me. Then a Hyena wanders through the camp. So close to a top predator in their domain. Truly a humbling and memorable moment.

Tour Leader Name

Bibi

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

BiBi works very hard for his clients. So much driving, then doing camp duties, even turning his hand to baking fresh bread. A lot of work for one man. I am not surprised that his tiredness' some times showed. The only down side was spending so much time looking for the big cats, that are great to see but the game animals were over looked. It would have been nice just to watch the other animals. Time to stop and stare.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Be prepared for camping in the wilds. Bush camping is what it says. You will not find porcelain. You will get dusty, live with it, so don't pack too many clothes. Enjoy the view from the loo and shower tent.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Being in the travel industry my self, I know how hard it can be. I have nothing but admiration for BiBi, and the way he handles his work load. Well done. The whole camping experience part of the holiday was a high light. Life in the bush, a great place to be.

 
10 , 07/09/13

Name

John

Tour Name

Botswana Wildlife Safarai

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Solomon our guide was great. Seeing everything up close was unexpected. Trip was full on busy. Evening dinner with group was always great.

Tour Leader Name

Solomon

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Great-----------extremely knowledgeable---------------very attentive

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Just do it

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

no bugs, no snakes but be prepared to see everything up close. Bring a 300mm lens, extra batteries and a spare memory card

 
9 , 06/09/13

Name

Angela

Tour Code

BW

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Seeing a Serval in Xakanaxa. Having quality viewings / time with the animals close up, without lots of other tourist vans

Tour Leader Name

Solomon

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Excellent, really cares about the animals and our interaction with them.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Toilets are more of a camp toilet that you squirt water down & doesn't flush. It's also impossible to zip the flap and use, unless you really have short legs!! Take hand gel & wet wipes, it gets very dusty/dirty. Worth taking your own liner, Fitted sheet & blankets as described. Take a woolly hat for the truck, protects from the cold/wind and for the ladies keeps your hair from getting knotted. Also a scarf will protect from the dust and there is a lot. If the trip is full it's three people per row on the truck.Take more than 1 battery for your camera, no charging points once camping. Flight back from Maun on Botswana air via Johannesburg and South African Airways to Heathrow. Insist on checking bags all the way through or it can take up to 2 hours in Jo'burg to sort out.

 
10 , 06/09/13

Name

Philip Lund

Tour Code

BW

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Probably seeing two male lions, at close quarters, which were preparing to hunt a young buffalo within a herd. But this was just one of many such moments. Also seeing Victoria Falls (again) - this time from the Zambian side: very impressive despite the very low rate of flow over the falls.

Tour Leader Name

Bibi Boik

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Excellent - constantly attentive to our needs and obviously a master of many trades.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Be prepared for early morning rises, sometimes packing by torchlight and cool early mornings - but these minor inconveniences are nothing relative to the rewards.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

"I would have preferred an extra night at Victoria Falls - to see more of the falls and Livingstone at the expense of one night camping. Despite the amazing efficiency in setting up and closing down the camps it would have been easier to have spent two nights at each of three sites, rather than a total of 7 nights at 4 sites. 

 
9 , 15/08/13

Name

Keith + Didi McKenzie

Tour Name

Botswana Wildlife Safari

Tour Code

BW

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Where to start? Elephant confrontation with a jeep? Baby elephant being attacked by lioness and reaction of the elephant herd? Hippo approaching our speedboat when the motor stopped working? Mating lions roaring every hour in the night (loudest living thing we've ever heard and you tend not to go to the toilet until daylight)and then finding lion paw prints throughout the camp in the morning while a couple of hyenas were munching on the nearby elephant carcass? Or a stunning helicopter ride over Victoria Falls (do the 30 min flight not the 15 min, shall say no more!!!)Saw lions, leopards, elephants, giraffes, zebras,birds,birds,birds, and.... cheetahs.... and loads more. No fences, no guns, just experience nature -- stunning trip. Finally do the Okavango flight trip at the end - well worth it.

Tour Leader Name

BIBI top guide!!!

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Bibi was professional, knowledgeable, superb driver (we had 3 punctures at speed), catered for everyone's needs ( my wife was the only vegetarian and he went out of his way to provide good food as he is an excellent cook), very amiable and has some interesting tales round the camp fire (not sure they're all true). Absolutely top, top guy, ...Explore, don't lose him. He works flat out all day and still finds time to work with kids at his church to set them on the right track.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Be prepared to rough it, to experience the unexpected, to show patience, to work with others. As Bibi says, if you want champagne at night, stay in a 5 star lodge, if you want Africa, do this tour. It's cold on the land cruiser in the mornings with the wind blowing on you so wrap up warm (hat, gloves) - blankets are supplied. Game drives are bumpy and dusty in August. Take GOOD binoculars, you'll use them all the time and a good camera if you're into photography.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

12 people on our trip, everyone 50 plus, usual bunch of teachers for August, excellent group, plenty of laughs, no complainers, plenty of patience. People make the trip nearly as much fun as the animals!!

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Wendy

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The whole experience= fantastic. From great variety, accommodation, food, people and transport. Air, water and land. Ever bumpy drive a thrill. Ideal to feel the atmosphere. The HAPPY animals in their natural environment. Unspoiled by tourism, amazingly quiet even at Victoria Falls. Through it and the helicopter WOW:-) loved it

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Bibi, I felt so safe with this experienced, expert guide. His knowledge on animals, environment and history so happily shared. Obviously loves his job and works so hard to ensure 'the people' have the best experience they can. His people skills second to non, he aims to please and succeeds. He deserves the pride he plainly feels in a job well done.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

If you want mod-cons and luxury this is not the trip for you! But if you want to experience the real deal this fits the bill=a fantastic way to experience the delights of Africa. The long drives definitely worth it. Take plenty of batteries, film/cards. Be prepared and you will have the trip of a lifetime.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Exceeded my hopes and expectations. Especially as a lone traveller great though a bit more contact prior to Maun would have been appreciated (especially as a new traveller) but it was fantastic THAMNK YOU Explore

 
10 Moira, 15/09/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Flying over the Victoria Falls in a helecopter such an amazing view,

Read more
 
10 David Bell, 06/09/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"There were many highlights, but perhaps the best was when a cheetah cub chased a wart hog but soon stopped. The wart hog then was approached by a group of zebra and together they approached the cheetah as if to show that the tables were turned. The cheetah withdrew to rejoin his mother who seemed disinterested in the whole affair.
Another memorable moment was watching a long line of elephants crossing an open space and walking past our vehicle. They kept an eye on us and two young elephants were kept very close to an adult as they passed. They made such little sound that if you closed your eyes you would not even know they were there"

Read more
 
4 Tim Kirby, 29/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Victoria Falls were magnificent and the hellicopter flight over them a memory to treasure.

Read more
Our Response

It may be helpful for us to explain that when you are travelling and working in Africa, driving hours will be very strictly regulated according to our standard operating procedures which form part of our contract with our local agent.

We are sorry you felt you did not gain as much as you wanted from our tour; however we understand that there is time in the evening and in the day for questions and interaction with our tour leader. They are always happy to answer any queries you have and they are trained guides who are usually great animal spotters.

We are glad that you enjoyed the helicopter ride and we agree that the view over Victoria Falls will have been amazing.

 
10 Julie and Martin Eggleton, 28/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"Martin-The Houseboat was a unique place to stay and see unbelievable wildlife, particularly birds.Just spectacular.

Julie-BOTSWANA IS THE BEST! Seeing amazing wildlife in the game reserves/national parks without being surrounded by other vehicles. This is the best safari I have been on (and I have been on a lot!) For me, I will never forget seeing a mother Cheetah with her enthusiastic offspring. We spent quite a while with them and saw so much."

Read more
 
10 Jo, 28/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Every single day of this trip had a highlight, but despite seeing hundreds of elephants by the end of the tour, the first time I heard elephants grazing and interacting with each other was very special.  It was our first night moored up on the houseboat, Kaiser called us to say elephants were close. We stood on deck and listened to them for ages, willing them to break through the trees a few metres away so we could see them, holding our breath so we wouldn't spook them.  We never did see them that night, they ran off into the darkness, but the anticipation and excitement was incredible.

Read more
 
10 Stephen, 09/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Watching elephants at sunset on Okavango Delta crossing the river with the sun slowly disappearing behind the mopane trees, bathing the elephants and the water in a magical golden glow. And we only stopped at that particular location because we had a puncture. Luck and magic.

Read more
 
10 Jo Laws, 03/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

I didn't think it would be possible to see so many animals so close.  Looking back at my photo's there was a highlight everyday.  Seeing a leopard for the first time, seeing lions 10 minutes later, hearing the hippos at night, watching the elephants bathe, seeing a hyena in camp, I could go on for hours.  It was all amazing.

Read more
 
10 Clare, 17/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Victoria falls by helicopter was exciting and spectacular

Read more
 
0 TH, 19/12/11
From the moment we arrived in Botswana and were met by our guide Bibi our adventure began, this trip was one of the best experiences of my life and I will cherish the memories forever, go on this trip and enjoy all the different cultures, admire the wildlife and most of all, have fun. (BW - 28th October)
 
0 VJC, 27/10/11
This was an amazing experience, we had a wonderful guide Bibi, he was also an excellent cook! The very cold mornings,especially when camping were a shock. Very warm clothes are needed, possibly gloves too. We saw lions, leopards, elephants, cheetahs and also wild dogs. We were able to follow them as they began to hunt. The time on the houseboat was lovely, again we saw lots of crocs and birds. The meals here were very, very good. The whole holiday was wonderful and this was due in large part with having Bibi as our guide; what a super chap, he had all the skills needed for that job. This was an unforgettable experience. (BW -29th July 2011)
 
0 M Garrod, 27/10/11
I have just come back from an amazing wildlife experience.  Our guide,driver, cook and tracker BiBi was amazing.  His tracking skills were amazing, his food delicious, his manner friendly and funny, his networking skills very useful if you want to find animals.  Trust his advice and you will have an amazing holiday.  Wild camping was amazing with elephants, leopard, honey badger and a hyena visiting us on various days.  I missed the rhino walk in Livingstone and wish i had gone as some in my group went and saw 7 rhino (not guaranteed) and as there are none in Botswana that would have been a great animal to have seen.  Thanks BiBi. (BW -29th August 2011)
 
0 KLB, 31/12/10
Our guide Solomon was fantastic, he provided excellent driving skills, advice and entertainment and organised everything to run smoothly. Our camp boys provided amazing food every night. The boat on the Okavango river was brilliant and the views amazing, each morning was to produce a stunning sunrise showing hippos, bee eaters, crocs and elephants on the riverside.  The Chobe and Morembi parks were staggering due to the herds of elephants that congrigate there, we had a huge herd swim past our boat protecting their calves. During the camping nights, Solomon lost a shoe to the hyenas who raided the bins in the early hours, he'd thrown it to scare them off!  Bring a powerful maglite torch for the dark evenings, they catch the animal eye reflections surrounding your camp, and you must embrace the additional guests of praying mantis' and coackroaches as they fly in your face at dinner time! the camping days did drag towards the end as you are only able to venture out in early am/pm due to the heat so bring lots of interesting books. Did the 'walk with lions' in Zambia and found it very interesting and not as touristy as I'd expect. The Falls were brilliant too, but ignore the dodgy locals who try and tempt you out onto the rocks at the top of the falls, they ask for money to get you back safely! The lion walk (ALERT) is a worthwhile project to donate to. Holiday is recommended, espeically if you are a very keen twitcher. (BW - 2009)
 
0 JL, 23/12/10
Great trip! Covered over 2000km searching for elephants, lions and leopards - which we found! Chobe National Park was a very special mix of water and land game drives and we were able to get up close and pretty personal with the residents. The camping was comfortable, the food excellent but the roads were bumpy - so bring a cushion! Camping in Moremi allowed us to beat the local lodges to the wildlife in the early morning and also allowed the locals to visit us! We had hyena and elephants in the camp and lions acting as security guards outside! I lost count of the mornings I was woken by hippos! Bring a good long lens with you and you will go away with some fantastic pictures of this wonderful country and its friendly people, as well as lifelong memories. (BW - 14th October 2010)
 
0 Nick Ward, 17/11/10

What a great trip. All we'd hoped for and more! Wonderful wildlife in beautiful surroundings. Highlights? Too many to mention, but for me 'our' Leopard has to be number one - first hanging upside-down from a tree while playing with the remains of her kill, then dropping it right next to the truck and climbing down to finish off the rib-cage! One of the world's most beautiful animals close up and completely unphased by our presence.Wow!     

My other highlight came a bit more expensive, but  if you can (it's not cheap) take the helicopter flight over Victoria Falls. The views of the falls are wonderful, but the 'extras' will take your breath away. (BW -1st October 2010)

 
0 Richard Rogers, 16/11/10
We've all seen the wildlife documentaries on TV, but being there in the middle of it all is breathtaking nonetheless. To be just a few yards from a leopard eating its prey, or a pride of lions lazing off a big meal, or hippos soaking themselves, or seeing a huge herd of buffaloes stretching off into the distance, is a thrill that will stay with you. The camps are simple but reasonably comfortable - camp beds and sheets/sleeping bags are provided, as are toilet and shower tents (days in October are hot so an afternoon shower was a more than welcome relief!) - and they are genuinely out in the wilds: don't be surprised to see elephants or impalas wandering by. Oh, and you'll probably have noisy neighbours, but they'll be lions, hyenas and hippos. This trip started well and just got better. Highly recommended. (BW -10th January 2010)
 
0 Steve Gilbert, 14/10/10
We've done a few safaris before and were looking for something different and we got it. Botswana doesn't have the same high levels of tourism as other African countries. We saw the same 2 dozen tourists as we toured around. we stayed on the houseboat in the remoteness of something that looked like the Norfolk Broads with hippos and crocs. Crocs are magnificent, we got so close and paused as they stared at us. Even sleeping they have their eyes open. Then with a big flick of the tail and big splash they're gone. Nice to see them enter the water and not our boat. Into Zambia and Victoria Falls we arrived by 0830 and were only tourists there. Uber magnificent water spray everywhere and multiple rainbows which I've never seen before. Awe inspiring and cannot forget for rest of our lives. Took the helicopter flight which alters the perspective and highlights the magnificence. Pilot took us white water rafting down a gorge, flying just feet from the water with all the sharp turns and excitement like being in a raft for real. We then set off for the National Parks of Botswana. We've seen alot of big cats but never expected to come face to fac with a leopard just 5 minutes into Moremi. In fact we saw more leopards than lions which we loved as they are beautiful.The small group pulled together as a unit to assist with the pushing as the 4wd got stuck in the sand. Animals were in abundance and we got so close in vehicles and during occasional leg stretch. we didn't even have to walk far as in camp at Chobe the elehants all 50 of them came to camp to check us out. Integrating so naturally with this environment made this tour so exhillerating and pleasurable. (BW  - 13th August 2010)
 
0 Paul Morgan-Jones, 22/09/10
This trip to the three countries of Botswana, Namibia and Zambia was quite amazing from start to finish. What were the highlights- well where do I begin? We stayed on the magnificent houseboat in the Okavango Delta panhandle, taking small dinghies out early in the morning and at sunset to marvel at the birdlife and hippo basking in the water. We were woken to the sound of elephant right beside the boat trampling through the undergrowth and snapping off branches - what a memory. We then moved on to Livingstone where I took a helicopter flight over the Falls - quite stunning and very special. Seeing the statue of Livingstone was tremendous as I did my O level project on his African journeys all those years ago! The falls were breathtaking. The final part of the trip involved crossing the border back in to Botswana from Zambia where we stayed in the game reserves of Chobe and Moremi where we saw wild dogs, hyenas, buffalo, giraffe, zebra, leopards, cheetah, lions - even seeing a pride of lions bring down a buffalo right in front of us- not for the faint hearted but an amazing sight! This was totally unexpected and I am sure you could go on many safaris and never see that. Elephants would stroll past our camp on their way to the water source- what a great sight. The trip was rounded off with with an awesome flight low over the Okavango delta. I can not recommend the trip highly enough- the sheer variety- camping, wildlife, Livingstone, the delta and so much more. Awesome. Just one piece of advice- take plenty of film, batteries and more than one memory card- you will definitely need it! Oh and yes stock up on plenty of supplies in Maun when you get the chance as you are out in the wild for some time- enjoy it- I certainly did! (BW- 14th August 2009)
 
0 Tricia Biggins, 22/09/10
The thrill of seeing the 'big five' and the helicopter flight over Victoria Falls, all made me feel very humble. My unexpected experience was that out of 12 people in the group 7 were American. I don't know why I hadn't thought to expect this before - maybe because other Explore trips had consisted of only British rather naive of me really but once I got used to the idea everything was ok.  Our tour leader, Bibi, was absolutely amazing.  Future travellers - stick to the rules and guide lines and be open to the experience. (BW- 30th April 2010)
 
0 Gary and Alison Longman, 21/09/10
Wow! Where to begin??... Arriving in Maun,and seeing our guide Solomon's beaming grin,as he loaded us into the safari truck that was to become (almost) our home for the duration. Catching sight of the houseboat floating serenely on the Okavango, and being lulled to sleep by the 'music' of the hippos around us. Driving to Victoria Falls, and overcoming Zambian bureaucracy (!) in order to see the most amazing volumes of spectacular water ever (and even more terrific from the air). Starting our time in Chobe with an elephant charge (we were perfectly safe!) followed immediately by spotting lions wrestling with a kill. Moving from camp to camp without leaving a trace behind us, and having elephants and zebra wandering casually by. Finally, the evening campfire conviviality, with the whole group (aged 14 to 76) bonded and happy to be in each others' company. What an incredible experience from beginning to end! (BW- 3rd April 2010)
 
0 Brian Johnson, 21/09/10
One of the best from the moment we met our guide, not only funny but informative and kept us going on cold mornings nothing was to much trouble. Had a great group of people from all walks of life that jelled from the start . fantastic scenery and the wildlife was exceptional. even the Leopards posed for us along with the elephants and lions plus other animals too numerous to mention. The highlight was Victoria Falls what a sight awe inspiring! on a par with the Grand Canyon any a day. A fantastic holiday all round. (BW- 16th July 2010)
 
0 Kate Lyon, 21/09/10
We arrived at the airport to be met by our wonderful guide for the trip, Bibi. He looked after us really well from the beginning to the end, worked really hard and had great tracking skills. I never in my wildest dreams imagined we would see so much wildlife and so close up. A highlight was camping out and having giraffes, zebras and wildebeest as neighbours during the day. At night we were visited by hyena, elephants and buffalo (and I am sure lots of other things we didn't see!). We followed a pack of wild dogs for two hours and watched them bring down an impala - thrilling; saw lions on a hippo kill; a leopard with a kill; vultures and storks on a dead buffalo. The boat trip at the start was very relaxing and great for bird spotting although we got way too close the hippos in the tiny little boats for my liking.  If you go in the winter - the game safaris start early and it was pretty freezing in the back of the jeep so pack clothes you can layer up as by midday it is into the twenties. We didn't get to meet the San bushmen as they were off hunting and some of the drives are very, very long and bumpy so be prepared. That said, Bibi made sure we had tea and biscuit stops along the way.  If you like wildlife, this is the trip for you. This was my first safari and following this holiday I am totally hooked and off to India on safari with Explore later this year. All in all a fantastic trip and be prepared for some close encounters!! (BW- 1st July 2010)
 
0 Kevin Walsh, 21/09/10
We had expected the camping to be an experience - seven nights under canvas in the African bush surrounded by all manner of animals great and small. It was still a surprise to have the early morning intrusion of a honey badger to raid the cool box and rip open the rubbish bags (and to cause consternation amongst the porters) but on reflection probably better than a lion or hippo! The trip was simply a collection of highlights (not all as anticipated) - early morning on the Okavango river, river trips and crocodiles, controlled chaos of border crossings, potential suicide victims on top of the Victoria falls (not in the explore group!), campfire drinks and stories, cold mornings on the tour bus, bush showers and of course the colourful and varied collection of plentiful animals and birds. Finally, and by no means the least, an interesting and diverse (and very amusing) group and excellent tour leader and camp assistants (including Kreecher the camp elf!). Take camera, binoculars (and bird spotting book) as well as plenty of warm clothes for the bus and you will have an amazing experience. (BW- 30th July 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA