It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
652 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Botswana Wildlife Safari BW

Trip Duration 15 Days

Reviews for Botswana Wildlife Safari

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Botswana Wildlife Safari trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Botswana Wildlife Safari reviews verified by reevooReevoo

60 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Botswana Wildlife SafariScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 60 reviews
(9 out of 10)


If you want to be right next to the lions when other groups are on the other side of the river then this is the tour for you. Camping in the Reserves brings you much closer to the animals and Bibi (our guide) is an expert in searching out the more elusive creatures. Each day we though he would not be able to outdo the previous game drive but he managed it every time. He also gives you enough time to observe everything rather than chasing off to "tick" another thing off the list.

Obi and Creature also deserve a mention for the high standard of food that they prepared everyday on an open fire and the limited camp facilities.

We had a copy of "Wildlife of the Okavango" by Duncan Butchart, which is small enough to carry easily and provides a handy reference to help remember the abundant wildlife. We saw over 100 different species of birds only a handful of which were familiar from the UK.
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2016
Published on: 21 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


Amazing experience.... Never thought I would get this close to elephants, leopards, rhinos and hippos. As well as about 80 varieties of birds. Not to mention zebras, giraffes, etc.

But beware the many roads take a lot of getting used to and the "simple camping" is literally that.

Tour gide (Bebe) acts as guide, tracker, wild life expert, driver, cook, diplomat. Never seen someone work so hard.

Optional trips that are really worth doing are the Rhino Walking safari in Livingstone and Chobe river cruise.
Confirmed traveller: 08 October 2016
Published on: 12 October 2016
(8 out of 10)


We really enjoyed our trip to Botswana and Zambia! Tips-take a good camera and good mosquito repellent.
The whole safari experience was the highlight as we did not expect to see so many animals and also come in close proximity to them.
Our safari guide was excellent, really good at tracking the animals.
We would definitely use Explore again!
Confirmed traveller: 01 October 2016
Published on: 19 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


The game viewing was spectacular. There were too many highlights to mention. The houseboat was very comfortable and the first few days were an easy relaxing start to a full on holiday with a lot of hippo sightings and too many spectacular birds to mention. The tents were comfortable and roomy and the hotel nights more than adequate. The food throughout was simple but exceptionally tasty and the best I have ever had on a camping trip. Bibi was extremely knowledgeable and informative. The animal and bird noises throughout the night were unbelievably atmospheric and the sunrises and sunsets need to be seen to be believed. Although it was fairly dry Victoria Falls were well worth the visit. The downsides are that there are only about 2 tarmacked roads in Botswana and everyday involved a very bumpy uncomfortable ride in our lorry. If you have any sort of back problem you will have issues. You also need to be reasonably mobile to climb in and out of the lorry. You must also not be of a nervous disposition because there will be wild animals in the camp and around your tent. We had an unpleasant, extremely frightening experience with a 5 ton elephant touching and walking round our tent and drinking from the wash basins on night after walking through the toilet tent. Although I have listed a few negatives I would not have missed the experience of seeing all these wonderful animals in their own environment and experiencing the atmosphere and noise. It is a great trip but you do need to be prepared for some bouncy rides and scary nights.
Confirmed traveller: 11 September 2016
Published on: 23 September 2016
(9 out of 10)


On the first morning the trip started with a stunning display of carmin be-eaters on the Okovango river and finished with a full hunt by five hunting dogs. I saw all the big 5 up close, I took a 400mm lens but didn't need it for the mammals most were photographed from 10-15ft. We saw lions every day on the drives in all the parks and one lioness in Savuti came so close I couldn't focus the camera. Solomon our knowledgable tour guide with his tracking skills ensured we managed to see as much wildlife on the drives as possible. With 3 days still to go we had seen all the big 5 up close plus the shy Roan and Sable antelope in addition to the uncommon Sitagunda. We witnessed so many memorable sights, hippos playing in the last evening sun, a young baby elephant challenging our truck, elegant giraffes striding across a golden Savannah, a 300 strong herd of Cape buffalo wandering around the truck like cows,
a large herd of elephants wandering 6ft past the truck as they left their watering hole, a leopard lying under a bush digesting her morning antelope kill, the remains of which was lying 5 feet away. All of this was capped on the last drive by a pack of hunting dogs making a kill. It didn't stop in the evening at night our camp was visited by honey badgers, civet, elephant, lion, leopard and hyenas. The experience of going to sleep in the tents under the amazing starlit african night sky with the background noise of lions roaring, hyenas laughing and elephant trumpeting I will never forget. This was all achieved from the open safari trucks, but beware the drives can be long, rough,
very dusty and in the morning cold, we needed fleeces and lightweight puffa jackets. If you are a birder this is a fantastic trip easily matching my previous Costa Rica trip. We didn't even try to find birds and I photographed over a hundred different species including the uncommon slaty egret on several occasions. In all, during the 15 days I took approx 9500 shots, make sure you take enough memory cards and batteries, also lenses cleaners and brushes the dust and sand gets everywhere. This was my first safari and it was a superb experience. I would reccomend it to anyone.
Confirmed traveller: 03 September 2016
Published on: 18 September 2016
(9 out of 10)


What a fantastic trip. Just as you thought it couldn't get better it did. With the highlight seeing wild dogs on a chase. Each setting had a different feel and atmosphere. Camping was a special experience with animals coming into camp. The night sounds of frogs,lions and hippos was magical. The drive from Botswana to Zambia was long and in our opensided truck very cold even with our blankets with only comfort stops. I would recommend this holiday I have so many memories.
Confirmed traveller: 21 August 2016
Published on: 04 September 2016
(10 out of 10)


Cayman Islands
This trip was all we hoped it would be, and much, much more. Although the itinerary was action packed, it contained time for both adventure and relaxation - a perfect holiday combination. The houseboat was a great way to start our adventure, as it allowed us to get to know our fantastic group leader, our fellow travelers (who were a brilliant mix of individuals) and the incredible country we were going to explore over the next two weeks. It is impossible to list all the highlights as there were so many of them, but a few of them were:
- the up close encounters with leopards, lions, African wild dogs and their cubs, elephants, rhinos and hippos - they were all unbelievable
- learning more about the animals, the people and Botswana around the campfires each night
- crossing deep rivers when in pursuit of a great sighting
- walking down to the bottom of Victoria Falls and seeing the beautiful rainforest plants which exist down there - I would only recommend this trek to the very fit who are carrying lots of water!
- flying over the delta to see the beautiful archipelago of tiny islands which exist there
- walking next to rhinos and feeling totally safe with our guides
Each park offered something slightly different and each day we saw amazing things which we will remember forever.

BiBi, our group leader, is an incredible ambassador for the people of Botswana and the Explore company. He has a comprehensive understanding of the animals and their habitats and he is happy to share his knowledge with you. Despite being in a potentially dangerous environment, our safety was of paramount concern to him and he made sure that we fully understood what we could and could not do. He and his colleagues ensured we were always well cared for, we ate great food and that the trip went smoothly.

I cannot recommend the trip highly enough - thank you BiBI and the Explore company. This will be the first trip of many!
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2016
Published on: 03 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


Cameron Park, CA, USA
Absolute highlight: Bibi, our guide. Other highlights: delta and houseboat, Chobe National Park
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2016
Published on: 23 August 2016
(10 out of 10)


Wentworth, Rotherham
The Botswana Safari tour was quite varied, though very much concentrated on animal and bird life - , staying on a great house boat, bird watching and looking for animals, then exploring the amazing Victora Falls to the actual Safari itself - which was brilliant. We were really lucky with the animals we saw: as well as elephants, hippos, zebras, lots of different sorts of antelopes we saw leopards, lions and their cubs playing and even the elusive cheetah. We had a honey badger in our camp who ate a loaf of bread and also some hyenas who drank the remains of a box of wine and certainly laughed about it (the hyemnas and ourselves!) Do take WARM clothes, a down coat, fleeces, gloves and hat - you travel in an open truck throughout the whole trip, it's cold both night and morning (in August at least!). The roads on safari are also very bumpy and it's dusty! However the trip was really excellent and you did have time to really watchthe animals and observe them, as well as seeing them close up. I would really recommend this trip.
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2016
Published on: 04 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


Sutton bridge
Fantastic tour ,amazing amount of wildlife ,most of which was close quarters.
Lions and elephants walking by tents quite amazing as was optional rhino walk in Zambia thoroughly recommend that,don't think that was advertised enough.
Take gloves and a hat if you go in winter. Windy and chilly on morning game drives .
Amazing food on both house boat and camp site
Confirmed traveller: 31 July 2016
Published on: 10 August 2016