It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
615 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Zululand and Kruger Wildlife ZK

Tour Duration 10 Days
 

Reviews for Zululand and Kruger Wildlife

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Zululand and Kruger Wildlife tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Zululand & Kruger Wildlife reviews verified by Reevoo

38 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Zululand & Kruger WildlifeScores 9.2 out of 10 based on 38 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Sarai

Hawkhurst
From the moment we stepped off the plane our feet never touched the ground. This trip packed in everything that you could wish for and more. Led by our passionate guides, Graeme and Chris, we explored their beloved country. We were overwhelmed with landscapes, wildlife and the Oscar winning acting abilities of our guides as they took us through the momentous battle of Rorke's drift.
This trip is not for the faint hearted as a lot is packed in every day. But it is the only way to see such a beautiful country. We stayed in amazing accommodation and were introduced to the cuisine of South Africa by Graeme and Chris who kept us well fed with a range of dishes. Nights were spent around the camp fire where we soaked up the ambiance of our surroundings. The trucks were a great transporter to see the country though they did numb your behind and left us with creaky knees, but that was a small price to pay.
There are so many special moments that we cannot name one. We were spoilt by an awesome group and Graeme and Chris who worked tirelessly to provide us with a holiday never to forget.
We would highly recommend this trip to anyone who is seeking an awfully big adventure.
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2016
Published on: 24 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Iain

Hockley
Brilliant trip with 2 entertaining and knowledgeable guides. Saw the Zulu battlegrounds which is a tick off of the bucket list. We saw so many different types of wildlife and got the chance to see and do so many different things. Highlights included a walk in the Drakensburg mountains, the hippo cruise and of course all the different safaris we went on. So much was packed in and whilst the days were long with some early starts that enabled us all to see as much as possible. We also had a great group with everybody getting on well with each other. Tips would be to do all the optional extras that you can and you can always catch up with sleep when you get back
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2016
Published on: 18 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Where to start? This was my most favourite Explore tour. Kruger National Park and Hluhluwe-Umfolozi game reserve are incredible areas. It was very exciting looking at the animals. We were very fortunate to see all of the big five game animals during our tour. Amazing sightings: lions with kill, leopard with kill, elephants, rhinos, hyena, buffalos, zebra, etc up close. The St. Lucia Estuary boat trip was a great way to end the day. Seeing hippos up close in their natural habitat - just amazing. Enjoyed visiting Swaziland. I highly recommend visiting the orphanage. The children are lovely. We had an opportunity to sing and to dance with them.
Confirmed traveller: 09 November 2015
Published on: 14 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Yvonne

Midlands (UK)
There were so many highlights that it is impossible to say what stood out as the best, the night drive was great (seeing a hooked-lipped Rhino was brilliant), Kruger National Park provided some great wildlife sightings and Swaziland was brilliant, visiting the local Chief and some of the children she cared for as well as walking amongst some of Africa's wild animals. The whole holiday lived up to expectations and more and I am really pleased to have finally been to Africa, the memories and experiences are something I won't forget.

The only minor negative thought is the seating at the back of the vans is a bit squashed, particularly when some travellers do not adhere to the suitcase guidelines provided by Explore. As a solo traveller this meant squashed with strangers and so taking pictures sometimes meant leaning over people. While this did not affect the over all holiday it would be good if either bag restrictions are enforced or reduce the size of groups to 14 to allow a little more space.
Confirmed traveller: 19 March 2016
Published on: 31 March 2016
(7 out of 10)

Alan

Peterborough
Highlights was the flexibility of the leaders. The itinerary made maximum use of the short duration. The vehicles were not particularly comfortable and we spent many hours travelling in them.
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2016
Published on: 25 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Seeing the Elephants and Giraffe in the iMfolozi Park. We were so close to these amazingly beautiful creatures. The Hippo's in the St Lucia cruse. Seeing baby hyena sunbathing on the side if the road in the wetland Park. On the St Lucia night drive we had a Rhino and her calf come right up to the vehicle which was magical. Staying in the Beehive huts in Mililwane, Swaziland with the warthogs and antelope walking through the camp.The tour was well run and organised. It was exactly as discribed in the tour literature. We had a small group of 7 people which fitted in one Toyota Freelander. Usually the group would consist of 14 to 16 people with 2 vehicals and 2 tour leader. Chris met us at the airport and took us to a hotel where day rooms were available for us to freshen up. Chris worked hard to keep us on schedual on this busy trip while allowing us maximum time game veiwing at the different parks. He made sure we arrived in time for our optional activities. On the first 2 nights camping, Chris helped us to set up our tents and cooked tasty meals for the group. Chris has a good knowledge of the animals and history of the area.
Confirmed traveller: 10 July 2014
Published on: 12 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Seeing the Elephants and Giraffe in the iMfolozi Park. We were so close to these amazingly beautiful creatures. The Hippo's in the St Lucia cruse. Seeing baby hyena sunbathing on the side if the road in the wetland Park. On the St Lucia night drive we had a Rhino and her calf come right up to the vehicle which was magical. Staying in the Beehive huts in Mililwane, Swaziland with the warthogs and antelope walking through the camp. The tour was well run and organised. It was exactly as discribed in the tour literature. We had a small group of 7 people which fitted in one Toyota Freelander. Usually the group would consist of 14 to 16 people with 2 vehicals and 2 tour leader. Chris met us at the airport and took us to a hotel where day rooms were available for us to freshen up. Chris worked hard to keep us on schedual on this busy trip while allowing us maximum time game veiwing at the different parks. He made sure we arrived in time for our optional activities. On the first 2 nights camping, Chris helped us to set up our tents and cooked tasty meals for the group. Chris has a good knowledge of the animals and history of the area.
Confirmed traveller: 09 May 2014
Published on: 12 March 2016
(6 out of 10)

Laura

Waltham Abbey
We saw lots of wildlife and some of the accommodation was good e.g. beehive huts in Swaziland, but other accommodation was poor e.g. the one night in Kruger. The transfers were longer than I anticipated therefore too much sitting down.
Confirmed traveller: 28 February 2016
Published on: 06 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Donna

Guildford
A busy trip. Hard to point out one highlight, it was all very good.
The accommodation was great but some nights it was basic (always clean and comfortable) so you need to be quite relaxed and be prepared for power cuts/no electricity. Make sure you have spare batteries for things like cameras.
Confirmed traveller: 28 February 2016
Published on: 02 March 2016