It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
547 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Zululand & Kruger Wildlife ZK

Tour Duration 10 Days
  • Blyde River Canyon
  • Watchful Lion
  • Mother and child
  • Zebra
  • The majestic Lion
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Busy
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
 

Book now!

12 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Zululand & Kruger Wildlife tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 , 27/11/13

Name

Jane Rose

Tour Name

Zululand and Kruger wildlife

Tour Code

ZK

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Highlights well there were so many, whale watching was amazing we were actually in the pod of humpbacks done many tours before but never experienced the amount and closeness as this tour! We saw a lioness with a kill, elephants having a bath! Incredible!


What stunned me most though was the scenery of all the places we went to, much more than i expected.
Zulu dancers were great, loved battle fields.To sum it up everyday was a highlight!!!! The accommodation was in my opinion much better than expected, it was unusual and fun!!

Tour Leader Name

Mike and Grant

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

I would advise that you do everything on offer and enjoy!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Thank you so much to Mike and Grant for making this trip outstanding

 
8 , 18/11/13

Name

Debbie

Tour Name

Zululand and Kruger Wildlife

Tour Code

ZK -31 Oct 2013

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Seeing a whole family of warthogs walk though the camp at mlilwane. swimming in the cascades at Drakensburg. Seeing wildlife in truly dramatic scenery.

Tour Leader Name

Graeme and Grant

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Both Graeme and Grant were very knowledgeable about the area and wildlife. They both had a passion for this area and south Africa which was infectious. They were also good fun and made it an enjoyable trip.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

I would be aware that this trip involves participation. You need to put tents up and being involved within a group gives you a fuller experience.

 
10 , 01/09/13

Name

chris

Tour Name

zululand and kruger wildlife

Tour Code

ZK

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

*Beehive Huts in Mlilwane- in fact the whole of Swaziland was absolutely incredible *Cape Vidal (despite the wind!) *Seeing a lion kill- a warthog- by the side of the road in Kruger

Tour Leader Name

Mike and Chris

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Both fantastic, funny, informative and very hard working with good eyes for picking out birds and wildlife.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

make sure you bring the extra 595 rand- EXPLORE trip notes don't make it clear that if you don't do Cape Vidal excursion you're stuck in st lucia for the day! don't expect open savannah like Etosha, this is bush and scrubland- difficult often to see wildlife and especially due to time constraints we have stick to tarmac in kruger

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

august is very windy off the south african coast and so whale watching at this time of year will either be not possible or very very uncomfortable. borders were fine- note there are a lot of fires during winter - one was really raging in mlilwane (lit deliberately!), which caused a diversion to the Mananga border instead of Jeppes Reef. don't think the only towns you'll see are graskop and st lucia- we see harrismith, ladysmith, dundee, manzini, komatipoort, dullstroom and loads more zulu dancing is much better than swazi dancing- should see as it is a very good cause (AIDS orphans) don't worry about going straight to the camp site after landing from a night flight- there is time to freshen up in the aero guest lodge in johannesburg before hand. prepare for cold on cloudless nights in drakensberg, bring fleeces for first 2 days and last day- but it is still hot in kruger and swaziland winter

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Jonathan

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Fantastic scenery, an abdundance of wildlife, fascinating history, wonderful climate, sandy beaches - what more could you want?

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Chris and Mike were first class leaders - efficient, knowledgeable and above all good fun!

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Make sure you have a decent size memory card in you camera.

 
10 Ann, 22/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Watching a herd of elephants walk towards us in Kruger.  One appeared in to distance then more and more appeared including some very cute babies and boisterous adolescents.  They walked down the river bed, feeding and splashing and under the bridge we were watching from.  Will never forget it.

Read more
 
10 Jayne Cross, 01/02/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Being lucky enough to see African wild dogs

Read more
 
10 Karen Lane, 31/12/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"Lots of highlights.
The trip to Cape Vidal , beautiful game reserve leading to a fantastic unspoilt beach.
All the animals- the very young baby zebra in Swaziland, the hippos , the lions sleeping by the river.
Blyde River Canyon- spectacular views"

Read more
 
10 Julie, 27/11/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The chance to see up close an amazing diversity of mammals and birds, a photographer's paradise. The trip nighlights the history culure and development of South Africa. Seeing and learning  about the Zulu and Boer battles was interesting but greatly enhanced by the knowledge of Graeme our guide.I enjoyed the diversity of the accomodation camping, Beehive huts, traditional huts and lodges.Found starting early much easier in the game parks as we would have our breakfast a couple of hours into the game drive.Enjoyed several braai barbeque meals cooked by of our guides.

Read more
 
10 Linda Cassidy, 12/10/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The whole of our stay in Swaziland was wonderful.We had not expected such lovely countryside or such warm hearted people. It was a beautiful site complete with resident hippo, good food and game walks straight from the camp. The visit to the orphanage was very touching but we did not feel that we were being voyeuristic. The children seemed very happy to sing and dance for us and tried to teach us too.

Read more
Our Response

But we would like to say here that good quality tents, equipment, and transport are all available for this tour, and will be used in future.

 
10 Hugh Busher, 15/09/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Both of them were excellent, Graeme Anderson and Chris Taylor


Read more
 
10 Susanne Maddox, 06/09/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"There were several !
.... camping in Drakensberg Mtns ..... had never expected to be doing this at minus 3 degrees ..but did and survived ..stunning scenery and wonderful brae under S.hemisphere stars ,
..wilderness sanctuary at Mlilanowe - beehive hut experience,
..early morning safaris, day at Cape Vidal  -all of it! and whale watching which had not expected to be doing as ""wrong"" season !!"

Read more
 
0 Graham Vincent, 21/09/10
On our Explore! Holiday we found out that there are two sorts of South African Campaign …  During the Anglo-Zulu War there was Lord Chelmsford’s unsuccessful Battle of Isandlwana in 1879, and by contrast there was our Explore! guides Grant and Chris‘s successful exploration of August 2010. Lord Chelmsford may have had his breakfast wagon, but Grant and Chris brought us breakfast, lunch and dinner every day! However after Rorke’s Drift, Grant was unlucky to follow Michael Caine’s example and “Blow the blooming wheel nuts off his Land Cruiser”. Unlike Lord Chelmsford’s army which divided, we stayed together to visit Hluhluwe-Umfolozi game reserve to see all that moved, and also the fabled Rockosaurus! From the beautiful St Lucia wetlands park a scouting party went up to Cape Vidal for snorkeling and swimming and we had to stand guard over the barbecue food to keep the monkeys away. Later a night-time sortie saw leopard, chameleon and was fortified by hot chocolate and rusks. Under our Explore! guides Grant and Chris’s leadership the whole company advanced across the Swaziland border to Mlilwane wildlife sanctuary’s beehive huts, which were warm, cosy, but not entirely soundproof - so we learnt a little more about each other there! Troops went out on foot, bicycles and horses. Like Mlilwane’s founder Ted Reilly, Grant and Chris drove their “Jezebels” up Executioner’s Rock so we could see the sun set on what may have been part of the British empire. And that evening we were treated to high-kicking dancing and high-pitched singing. After further border crossings our Explore! guides Grant and Chris ensured our ammunition supplies by visits to all the gift shops in the area! After a skirmish in the kitchen with Chris, Grant just made it to our table covered in Wellington’s sweet chilli sauce, to tell us that dinner was ready, before they both sat down exhausted. Under Grant and Chris’s guidance we saw much more than just the big five at St Lucia wetlands park, Mlilwane wildlife sanctuary and Kruger national park. Our Explore! guides drove us thousands of kilometres to show us South Africa’s beautiful animals, birds and extraordinary sights and we left via God’s Window, which for us was Johannesburg airport. We enjoyed getting to know Grant and Chris, each other, and the fantastic country of South Africa, which we hope will continue to develop harmoniously. We all thanked our guides Grant and Chris for their precise timetables, skill, knowledge and professionalism in guiding us on an unforgettable Explore! holiday. (ZK- 12th August 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA