It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
652 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Zululand and Kruger Wildlife ZK

Trip Duration 10 Days

Reviews for Zululand and Kruger Wildlife

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Zululand and Kruger Wildlife trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Zululand & Kruger Wildlife reviews verified by reevooReevoo

54 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Zululand & Kruger WildlifeScores 9.2 out of 10 based on 54 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Colin & Alison

The variety in the itinerary was a strength; it was good to visit a number of different places & not just view game.Highlights were St.Lucia especially the river cruise, the Drakenburg Mountains & Swaziland, especially the game reserve we stayed on & the cultural visit to a local village. We were told this was usually a tour only offered to family trips but everyone who did it really enjoyed it & I feel it should be on offer to all groups.It was a shame we all had to be dropped off so early at the airport on the way home because there were so many flights;some people had around a 5 hour wait for their flight.

Had not expected it to be so cold & the dossier did not really prepare us for that, so did not have the most appropriate clothes.

Both tour leaders were good (Sydney, local tour guide & Nico, Explore leader)
Confirmed traveller: 16 October 2016
Published on: 22 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


An excellent trip marred only by some poor weather. 9/10 only because I would have preferred another wildlife stop rather than battlefields (although the history is interesting). A range of habitats visited that are excellent for birding and the later parks good for animals. September was good for bird and animal visibility and I enjoyed watching weavers build their nests and some courtship displays. The 2 leaders Graham & Mark made the trip. Their knowledge on all things was incredible, and multi-tasking extended to pancakes for breakfast and manning the braai (BBQ). I'll never forget my huge plate of fillet steak in Kruger or them sheltering under an information stand in the pouring rain cooking lunch in iMfolozi. Thanks to Mark for the extra-curricular dawn bird walks! They made sure everyone's interests were looked after and would turns the cars so everyone got an equal look at the animals. Overall a very memorable and value for money trip. Cheers Graham and Mark! PS.. Tips..please take a soft holdall (no hard cases or wheeled cases) to avoid the van tetris game each morning. Take a range of clothing- it can be wet and cold through to super hot (and was on my trip). All our accommodation took the large SA plug- you can easily buy an adaptor at Heathrow if you cant find one before. ATMs are the best value for currency; the banks are upstairs at the airport (max 4000 rand) and there are ATM stops later in the trip. Cash is harder and more expensive to change although possible. Swaziland takes Rand.
Confirmed traveller: 25 September 2016
Published on: 29 September 2016
(9 out of 10)


Worcester, England
I really enjoyed the itinerary but would have loved another day in Kruger as there is so much to see. We were very luck to see 7 of the big 8 though and on only 2 safaris in the park.

Graeme and Marc are passionate about the wildlife, history and culture and have a great combined knowledge. They really pulled out the stops on one safari day where the rain was unrelenting to ensure we still had our braii lunch. Boy Scouts eat your heart out!

Travellers need to be considerate about the bags they take as storage space in the vehicles is limited and a few large suitcases on our trip caused headaches for Marc and Graeme who had to pack and unpack the vans daily.

The vans themselves are tight for space so if you have issues with sharing your personal space bear this in mind. We had a full trip and so 3 to the back row could get a bit hot and cramped.

A nice mix of accommodation with the beehive huts being a real treat. The Kruger accommodation is very basic but worth it for the position you have in the park.

Graeme and Marc made sure we were well fed and looked after. All in all some amazing memories made.
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 30 September 2016
(8 out of 10)


The itinerary was great - plenty of wildlife and the battlefields were a bonus. The tour leader, Graeme, was fantastic and highly organised and knowledgeable.

Only negative was the vehicles. Whilst they technically accommodated 8 passengers each, the boots were not nearly big enough meaning we often had to spend long drives crammed in with our hand luggage, food for the meals and cooler boxes. Very uncomfortable!
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 29 September 2016
(9 out of 10)


Overall the trip is exceptionally well balanced, a great combination of amazing wildlife which was the main draw for me, combined with learning about the history of South Africa and Swaziland from Zulu wars to Boa culture, all being told to stunning backdrops and some great food to boot really made this a fantastic trip.

We got lucky with some great wildlife spots, loads of Giraffe, Rhino, amazing Elephant sightings and then even a Hyena right next to our vehicle, a bachelor group of Lion and of course a herd Buffalo crossing (no Leopard unfortunately, he was too good at hiding)

Overall the accommodation and food exceeded my expectations but the highlight was always going to be the animals, it really was amazing to get so close to 4 of the big 5 and the icing on the cake was 2 amazing guides who between them seemed to know about every animal/bird that we saw and a huge amount about the countries history as well.

All in all a fantastic trip and I would thoroughly recommend it!
Confirmed traveller: 11 September 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


Welwyn Garden City
The Explore description of the trip as "full on" was exactly right with lots of early starts and days crammed full of activity. In all the information provided before the trip was first class, I just wished I had packed my walking boots for the hill walking we did.
While a lot of time was spent travelling, the expert knowledge of each of the two guides on all aspects of the different places visited (history, zoology, botany etc.) meant there was no time to get anywhere near being bored. This was a fantastic trip, the highlights being the time spent in the many game reserves "rubbing shoulders" (well almost) with the many wild animals only seen previously on TV or in Zoos. I could have done it all again the following week.
Confirmed traveller: 11 September 2016
Published on: 22 September 2016
(10 out of 10)


Welwyn garden city
Best holiday ever! Graham and Marc our tour leaders were very nice,informative,generously in sharing all their wild life knowledge, which was extensive.It was a full on Safari holiday, sometimes starting very early to make the most of the animals early mornings. Graham and Marc often cooked for us, sometimes a BBQ sitting in the dark around a fire pit burning brightly with logs.Fantastic atmosphere.They went out of their way to make sure we saw as many wild animals and beautiful birds as possible.Every day was full and incredibly interesting. I would recommend this Safari holiday highly, and would go again myself in an instant. I absolutely loved seeing so many wild animals in their natural invironment. I will never go to a small Zoo again.
Confirmed traveller: 11 September 2016
Published on: 21 September 2016
(10 out of 10)


Zululand and Kruger Wildlife adventure - This package is called full on which is an accurate description. There are too many highlights to mention, as every day you were witnessing new experiences and seeing the beauty of south Africa and all it has to offer, and boy it exceeded all of my expectations, it was just a magical trip which I will not forget for the rest of my life.

Singubala: an magical eco camp in the middle of no where surrounded by the most wonderful views.

The accommodation block are either these wonderful round buildings and some houses but which are extremely comfortable with all mode cons except for internet and TV. The camp is looked after by attendants who also double up as local tour guides ,who take you trekking up the mountains, which the views are absolutely glorious. The evening are spent in deep conversation with the group / watching the stars while sitting my the large pit fire....magical place.

Umuzi Bushcamp
Another very comfortable accommodation which all mode code cons (no internet) and all en suite. we only spent less that 24 hours here and did not get to see the complete delights of this bush camp.

If I do have to choose magical highlight :

1) It was the group of 16 people who had booked the same trip and we all got on a like house on fire.

2) Our leaders (Mark and Graham) who went above and beyond the remit to make the whole trip pure magical for each and every one of us and for that I thanks them both from the bottom of my heart.

3) It was the careful planning of the agenda which was spot on, including all the accommodation which where all at a good standard with fans and the majority en suite (absolute favourites : Singubala / Umzula Bushcamp /Beehive huts.

4) St Lucia - Cape Vidal and spending time on the beach white sands blue sea

5) Kruger National Park - pure magical experience which I will never forget seeing all gods creature in the natural surroundings.

6) Hippo Cruise.

Tips: I personally did not like the Pretorius rest camp, the only reason was and the toilet and bathing facilities were not close to my accommodation. The accommodation itself was very basic.
Confirmed traveller: 10 September 2016
Published on: 15 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


Wonderful trip! Exceeded my expectations! The tour leaders Marc Conje and Graeme Anderson were fantastic. Their knowledge, experience and genuine love for their homeland was reflected in the sites we saw and the experiences we had every day of our trip. They are fantastic representatives for Explore.
The accommodation exceeded my expectations and was very comfortable. The itinerary was well planned and the dramatic contrast between safari and highlands and time next to the Indian Ocean gave a good balance to the trip, with enough opportunity to relax.
Confirmed traveller: 10 September 2016
Published on: 21 September 2016
(10 out of 10)


I would unequivocally recommend this trip; definitely up there with my best holidays ever. This is a full-on trip with some early starts and long days, so don't take a trip like this if you are looking for a restful time.
A great combination of scenery, history and of course birds and wildlife galore. The trip visits several reserves in different areas to maximise the opportunities to see a huge range of wildlife.
The guides were first rate with a great depth of knowledge about what we were seeing and a real passion or wildlife that really added to the experience.
If you want good pictures take a good camera with a reasonably long zoom range; you will get almost close enough to touch sometimes, but animals can also be some way off.
Confirmed traveller: 10 September 2016
Published on: 20 September 2016