It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Zululand and Kruger Wildlife ZK

Trip Duration 10 Days
 

Reviews for Zululand and Kruger Wildlife

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Zululand and Kruger Wildlife trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Zululand & Kruger Wildlife reviews verified by reevooReevoo

61 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Zululand & Kruger WildlifeScores 9.2 out of 10 based on 61 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Olivia

Woking
This is a brilliant trip and you cover so much in 10 days. One highlight of mine was doing the optional night drive and stopping in the middle of the game reserve to get out and enjoy a hot chocolate. It was a clear night so the stars were absolutely amazing, our guide showed us all the star constellations as well as Jupiter and Mars. We saw so many animals and birds, including black rhino and male lions. We were also lucky enough to have Graeme as our tour leader, who is absolutely outstanding. He has the whole itinerary organised with absolute precision – a tough job for such a full on trip. Graeme was able to spot the most obscure wildlife for us whilst on game drives and showed so much passion for the nature, history and culture of South Africa. He managed to captivate the whole group with his tales of the Zulu battles – his story telling was brilliant and brought the whole scene to life. As long as you're prepared for some long drives and early starts you'll love this trip if you're keen on wildlife. The time in Swaziland is great and offers an eye opening contrast to South Africa, we opted to climb execution rock in Mlilwane which gave us beautiful views over the game reserve and a welcome chance to stretch our legs. Definitely bring a torch for the evenings as some of the camps have limited electricity as well as a bandana/scarf for dusty game drives. Fabulous trip, would definitely recommend to anyone!
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 02 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Helen

CHESTER
This was a fabulous trip with a first rate guide. Graeme was organised, enthusiastic, knowledgeable and a fabulous story teller when it came to explaining the history. He and Nico looked after us well and went above a beyond the call of duty. The baboti they made us was delicious. We saw plenty of animals and most of the big five, only the leopard eluded us. The accommodation varied but the beehive huts in Swaziland were a real treat, as was watching elephants splash around in Kruger National Park. I loved every minute of it.
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 29 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Laura

Windsor
I loved this tour. For me, the main reason for choosing it was for safari and animals and it exceeded my expectations. Kruger of course is incredible, and we were lucky enough to see the big 5. But I also loved the hippo boat tour, walking amongst the zebra in Mlilwane, trying horse back safari, and then a night drive which was totally different again.
The walk in the Drakensburg mountains on the second day was beautiful.
We were fortunate to have Graeme as our tour guide, and he did an incredible job of looking after us, and making sure we had the holiday we hoped for. His knowledge of the area, and the wildlife was second to none, and he made the tour of the battlefields one of the unexpected highlights. I had thought this might be a less interesting part of the trip for me, but Graeme has such a talent for story telling that I found hearing about the Zulu battles fascinating.
The accommodation as usual on Explore trips was fine, as long as you're not expecting luxury. Lodges were usually clean and comfortable, en suite with hot water. The night in Kruger is a lower standard (toilet/shower block behind the huts), but this gives you the chance to get stuck into safari early the following morning, which is well worth it.
Several of the reviews I read talked about how busy the tour is. I didn't find it especially hectic. There are some early starts - but that's kind of the point of safari. There are some long drives - but that's kind of the point of going on tour to see a country. And there's plenty to do - which is kind of the point of booking an Explore trip.
In summary, I thought this was an excellent tour and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.
Confirmed traveller: 16 November 2016
Published on: 03 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Gillian

Adelaide Australia
Overall the trip was great.Alot of sitting in tired old vehicles, noted that they had done close to 500000kms and one of them had trouble now climbing hills.It would have been nice if Mike one of the tour guides could have stayed with us for the whole trip and not go off to another explore trip part of the way through ours, then the new one and Sidney both left us in Belfast and we were transferred to a minibus with a very grumpy driver as he had been waiting for us for over 2hrs he said to take us to the airport
Confirmed traveller: 13 November 2016
Published on: 26 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Garry

Wokingham
Avery varied itinerary, mainly game drives but with a little history and culture as well. The group of 10 travelled 2 Landcruisers which hastily converted into our very own safari vehicles. Accommodation was excellent with just about the right level of comfort combined with some stunning locations.
Confirmed traveller: 06 November 2016
Published on: 07 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Alex

Wigan
Excellent trip and group, and the highlights included hiking in the Drakensberg mountains, getting so close to white rhinos in Hluhluwe-Imfolozi, all the optional trips in St Lucia, Swaziland, and finally seeing lions in the Kruger. In Swaziland I especially enjoyed the cultural visit to a local village. We only found out about this through one of our guides, Sydney, and I also saw it whilst we were in Swaziland in my guide book. I think that Explore should offer this an optional trip on the itinerary. It is offered on the family trips and we were told that Explore do not mention it on this trip as they only believe that those attending this trip are only really interested in viewing animals and birds when they are in Swaziland.

I did book onto whale watching but this was cancelled due to the weather, as it was far too windy.

We had two guides, Sydney (who was with us from the start) and Nico. I was in Sydney's minibus and we wouldn't have seen half of the animals and birds without him being with us. He managed to get our minibus always into the best positions for viewing animals and birds and ensured that everyone in the minibus could see effectively.

There was some confusion at times about what time we were to meet and where. We didn't have information written down every evening for the next day as I did on the previous Explore trip I was on.

On the whole the accommodation was excellent, apart from St Lucia and Kruger. I enjoyed crawling in and out of the beehive huts. The food was also excellent and we only had to go a Wimpy once! I did go on a hunt for a sandwich for lunch in one supermarket but did manage to find one in the end.

It was a bit of a squash in our minibus but we did move round and sit in different seats. I thought it would be air conditioned but it was not. This made it very uncomfortable on the way to Swaziland as it was very hot that day.

The weather was very changeable with rain, wind and heat. This meant that I did wear all the clothes I brought with me including my woolly hat.

Be prepared on the safaris for sitting down for ages and looking intently either side of the vehicles for any signs of life. I thought that I would get motion sickness but did not. Also there are road works on the way out of Swaziland and so you could wait to move for ages.

Take a torch as not all the places where the accommodation is based is lit up outside at night.

There is currently a severe drought in South Africa and Swaziland. In some places we only had water for a short time and in others we had to ensure that we were careful with the water we used.

I would recommend that Explore splits the group in the Drakensberg into those that would like to go on a short hike or a long hike.

I bought a Water-to-Go water bottle as recommended, as did some others. I did use this in addition to always buying plenty of water from all the Spars and Pick N Pay supermarkets we went to.
Confirmed traveller: 16 October 2016
Published on: 31 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Colin & Alison

Huddersfield
The variety in the itinerary was a strength; it was good to visit a number of different places & not just view game.Highlights were St.Lucia especially the river cruise, the Drakenburg Mountains & Swaziland, especially the game reserve we stayed on & the cultural visit to a local village. We were told this was usually a tour only offered to family trips but everyone who did it really enjoyed it & I feel it should be on offer to all groups.It was a shame we all had to be dropped off so early at the airport on the way home because there were so many flights;some people had around a 5 hour wait for their flight.

Had not expected it to be so cold & the dossier did not really prepare us for that, so did not have the most appropriate clothes.

Both tour leaders were good (Sydney, local tour guide & Nico, Explore leader)
Confirmed traveller: 16 October 2016
Published on: 22 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Michelle

Birmingham
An excellent trip marred only by some poor weather. 9/10 only because I would have preferred another wildlife stop rather than battlefields (although the history is interesting). A range of habitats visited that are excellent for birding and the later parks good for animals. September was good for bird and animal visibility and I enjoyed watching weavers build their nests and some courtship displays. The 2 leaders Graham & Mark made the trip. Their knowledge on all things was incredible, and multi-tasking extended to pancakes for breakfast and manning the braai (BBQ). I'll never forget my huge plate of fillet steak in Kruger or them sheltering under an information stand in the pouring rain cooking lunch in iMfolozi. Thanks to Mark for the extra-curricular dawn bird walks! They made sure everyone's interests were looked after and would turns the cars so everyone got an equal look at the animals. Overall a very memorable and value for money trip. Cheers Graham and Mark! PS.. Tips..please take a soft holdall (no hard cases or wheeled cases) to avoid the van tetris game each morning. Take a range of clothing- it can be wet and cold through to super hot (and was on my trip). All our accommodation took the large SA plug- you can easily buy an adaptor at Heathrow if you cant find one before. ATMs are the best value for currency; the banks are upstairs at the airport (max 4000 rand) and there are ATM stops later in the trip. Cash is harder and more expensive to change although possible. Swaziland takes Rand.
Confirmed traveller: 25 September 2016
Published on: 29 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Serena

Worcester, England
I really enjoyed the itinerary but would have loved another day in Kruger as there is so much to see. We were very luck to see 7 of the big 8 though and on only 2 safaris in the park.

Graeme and Marc are passionate about the wildlife, history and culture and have a great combined knowledge. They really pulled out the stops on one safari day where the rain was unrelenting to ensure we still had our braii lunch. Boy Scouts eat your heart out!

Travellers need to be considerate about the bags they take as storage space in the vehicles is limited and a few large suitcases on our trip caused headaches for Marc and Graeme who had to pack and unpack the vans daily.

The vans themselves are tight for space so if you have issues with sharing your personal space bear this in mind. We had a full trip and so 3 to the back row could get a bit hot and cramped.

A nice mix of accommodation with the beehive huts being a real treat. The Kruger accommodation is very basic but worth it for the position you have in the park.

Graeme and Marc made sure we were well fed and looked after. All in all some amazing memories made.
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 30 September 2016
(8 out of 10)

William

Worcester
The itinerary was great - plenty of wildlife and the battlefields were a bonus. The tour leader, Graeme, was fantastic and highly organised and knowledgeable.

Only negative was the vehicles. Whilst they technically accommodated 8 passengers each, the boots were not nearly big enough meaning we often had to spend long drives crammed in with our hand luggage, food for the meals and cooler boxes. Very uncomfortable!
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 29 September 2016