It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
629 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Zululand and Kruger Wildlife ZK

Trip Duration 10 Days
 

Reviews for Zululand and Kruger Wildlife

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Zululand and Kruger Wildlife trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Zululand & Kruger Wildlife reviews verified by reevooReevoo

67 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Zululand & Kruger WildlifeScores 9.2 out of 10 based on 67 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Caroline

Swansea
Very well organised, great leader and outstanding guides (Graeme and Mike). A really successful tour, with stunning scenery, outstanding game drives, boat trip, long walks and the beach too. Hats off to the hard work undertaken by Graeme to make this busy trip run like clockwork and to ensure we understood the Zulu history with his story telling. The cooking by the leaders was also superb, just don't know where they get their energy! A very memorable tour, great group and perfect dry weather. We even saw the Big 5 thanks to Mike and his patient tracking skills! Book it!
Confirmed traveller: 11 February 2017
Published on: 16 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Rupert

Oxford
Very well organised, great leader and guide (Graeme and Mike). The tour certainly lives up to the 'full on' billing, with a lot of early starts and long drives, but the destinations were well worth it. Highlights for me were the Cape Vidal excursion and an exhilarating finale in the stunning Kruger park, where Mike's persistence got us up close to the big 5.
Confirmed traveller: 11 February 2017
Published on: 14 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Denise

Highlights - definitely the walking safaris in Mlilwane

Tips - take plenty of sunscreen and long sleeves even when in the vehicle as it is both hot and the sun is strong especially in Kruger
Confirmed traveller: 22 January 2017
Published on: 31 January 2017
(10 out of 10)

Michael

Bournemouth
This trip was amazing, saw so much wildlife including the big five and 136 species of bird,the leaders Grant and Mike were brilliant and full of knowledge, this holiday was very busy and we drove 2500km so not a trip for the faint hearted would recommend this trip to anyone with a passion for wild places.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 22 January 2017
Published on: 29 January 2017
(10 out of 10)

Olivia

Woking
This is a brilliant trip and you cover so much in 10 days. One highlight of mine was doing the optional night drive and stopping in the middle of the game reserve to get out and enjoy a hot chocolate. It was a clear night so the stars were absolutely amazing, our guide showed us all the star constellations as well as Jupiter and Mars. We saw so many animals and birds, including black rhino and male lions. We were also lucky enough to have Graeme as our tour leader, who is absolutely outstanding. He has the whole itinerary organised with absolute precision – a tough job for such a full on trip. Graeme was able to spot the most obscure wildlife for us whilst on game drives and showed so much passion for the nature, history and culture of South Africa. He managed to captivate the whole group with his tales of the Zulu battles – his story telling was brilliant and brought the whole scene to life. As long as you're prepared for some long drives and early starts you'll love this trip if you're keen on wildlife. The time in Swaziland is great and offers an eye opening contrast to South Africa, we opted to climb execution rock in Mlilwane which gave us beautiful views over the game reserve and a welcome chance to stretch our legs. Definitely bring a torch for the evenings as some of the camps have limited electricity as well as a bandana/scarf for dusty game drives. Fabulous trip, would definitely recommend to anyone!
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 02 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Helen

CHESTER
This was a fabulous trip with a first rate guide. Graeme was organised, enthusiastic, knowledgeable and a fabulous story teller when it came to explaining the history. He and Nico looked after us well and went above a beyond the call of duty. The baboti they made us was delicious. We saw plenty of animals and most of the big five, only the leopard eluded us. The accommodation varied but the beehive huts in Swaziland were a real treat, as was watching elephants splash around in Kruger National Park. I loved every minute of it.
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 29 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Laura

Windsor
I loved this tour. For me, the main reason for choosing it was for safari and animals and it exceeded my expectations. Kruger of course is incredible, and we were lucky enough to see the big 5. But I also loved the hippo boat tour, walking amongst the zebra in Mlilwane, trying horse back safari, and then a night drive which was totally different again.
The walk in the Drakensburg mountains on the second day was beautiful.
We were fortunate to have Graeme as our tour guide, and he did an incredible job of looking after us, and making sure we had the holiday we hoped for. His knowledge of the area, and the wildlife was second to none, and he made the tour of the battlefields one of the unexpected highlights. I had thought this might be a less interesting part of the trip for me, but Graeme has such a talent for story telling that I found hearing about the Zulu battles fascinating.
The accommodation as usual on Explore trips was fine, as long as you're not expecting luxury. Lodges were usually clean and comfortable, en suite with hot water. The night in Kruger is a lower standard (toilet/shower block behind the huts), but this gives you the chance to get stuck into safari early the following morning, which is well worth it.
Several of the reviews I read talked about how busy the tour is. I didn't find it especially hectic. There are some early starts - but that's kind of the point of safari. There are some long drives - but that's kind of the point of going on tour to see a country. And there's plenty to do - which is kind of the point of booking an Explore trip.
In summary, I thought this was an excellent tour and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.
Confirmed traveller: 16 November 2016
Published on: 03 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Gillian

Adelaide Australia
Overall the trip was great.Alot of sitting in tired old vehicles, noted that they had done close to 500000kms and one of them had trouble now climbing hills.It would have been nice if Mike one of the tour guides could have stayed with us for the whole trip and not go off to another explore trip part of the way through ours, then the new one and Sidney both left us in Belfast and we were transferred to a minibus with a very grumpy driver as he had been waiting for us for over 2hrs he said to take us to the airport
Confirmed traveller: 13 November 2016
Published on: 26 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Garry

Wokingham
Avery varied itinerary, mainly game drives but with a little history and culture as well. The group of 10 travelled 2 Landcruisers which hastily converted into our very own safari vehicles. Accommodation was excellent with just about the right level of comfort combined with some stunning locations.
Confirmed traveller: 06 November 2016
Published on: 07 November 2016
(6 out of 10)

Sally

Glasgow
I think I was a little disappointed with Kruger. I was looking forward to it so much and it is so famous I think I was expecting lots of wildlife and big cats at every turn. I freely admit that my expectations were too high and I should have been prepared for it to be really busy with Tarmac roads as lots of people obviously want to go there. Having said that, I did enjoy all the safaris in the park and loved all the animal sightings lion, hyena, wild dog, elephant, rhino, hippo, lots of antelope and of course the lovely birds.
I did not particularly care for the huts at the Pretoriuskop camp especially as so many people were relying on a small ablution block with only 3 toilets and 2 showers. I found the camp in Mlilwane, Swaziland much nicer and we all appreciated the 'upgrade' to the Mantenga Lodge.
The eco camp in the Drakensbergs was lovely and the tour of the Zulu battlefields was very interesting. Our tour guide, Graeme, gave a very spirited talk about the historical events there. I particularly liked the beehive huts at the Ulundi Bush Camp and the excellent meal that was prepared for their three vegetarian guests which we ate under a spectacular thunderstorm!
Confirmed traveller: 05 November 2016
Published on: 17 December 2016