It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
622 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Zululand and Kruger Wildlife ZK

Trip Duration 10 Days
 

Reviews for Zululand and Kruger Wildlife

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Zululand and Kruger Wildlife trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Zululand & Kruger Wildlife reviews verified by Reevoo

45 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Zululand & Kruger WildlifeScores 9.2 out of 10 based on 45 reviews
(9 out of 10)

David

Welwyn Garden City
The Explore description of the trip as "full on" was exactly right with lots of early starts and days crammed full of activity. In all the information provided before the trip was first class, I just wished I had packed my walking boots for the hill walking we did.
While a lot of time was spent travelling, the expert knowledge of each of the two guides on all aspects of the different places visited (history, zoology, botany etc.) meant there was no time to get anywhere near being bored. This was a fantastic trip, the highlights being the time spent in the many game reserves "rubbing shoulders" (well almost) with the many wild animals only seen previously on TV or in Zoos. I could have done it all again the following week.
Confirmed traveller: 11 September 2016
Published on: 22 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Sandra

Welwyn garden city
Best holiday ever! Graham and Marc our tour leaders were very nice,informative,generously in sharing all their wild life knowledge, which was extensive.It was a full on Safari holiday, sometimes starting very early to make the most of the animals early mornings. Graham and Marc often cooked for us, sometimes a BBQ sitting in the dark around a fire pit burning brightly with logs.Fantastic atmosphere.They went out of their way to make sure we saw as many wild animals and beautiful birds as possible.Every day was full and incredibly interesting. I would recommend this Safari holiday highly, and would go again myself in an instant. I absolutely loved seeing so many wild animals in their natural invironment. I will never go to a small Zoo again.
Confirmed traveller: 11 September 2016
Published on: 21 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Sara

Norwich
Wonderful trip! Exceeded my expectations! The tour leaders Marc Conje and Graeme Anderson were fantastic. Their knowledge, experience and genuine love for their homeland was reflected in the sites we saw and the experiences we had every day of our trip. They are fantastic representatives for Explore.
The accommodation exceeded my expectations and was very comfortable. The itinerary was well planned and the dramatic contrast between safari and highlands and time next to the Indian Ocean gave a good balance to the trip, with enough opportunity to relax.
Confirmed traveller: 10 September 2016
Published on: 21 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Nick

Warwick
I would unequivocally recommend this trip; definitely up there with my best holidays ever. This is a full-on trip with some early starts and long days, so don't take a trip like this if you are looking for a restful time.
A great combination of scenery, history and of course birds and wildlife galore. The trip visits several reserves in different areas to maximise the opportunities to see a huge range of wildlife.
The guides were first rate with a great depth of knowledge about what we were seeing and a real passion or wildlife that really added to the experience.
If you want good pictures take a good camera with a reasonably long zoom range; you will get almost close enough to touch sometimes, but animals can also be some way off.
Confirmed traveller: 10 September 2016
Published on: 20 September 2016
(8 out of 10)

Joanne

Guelph, Canada
This was a busy trip that included a number of wildlife highlights in a short amount of time. Both of our guides, Marc and Mike, were extremely knowledgable and they each did their best to accommodate the group's diverse 'wildlife must-see' list. Having spent most travel time in Marc's truck, we learned a great deal about the animals, their habitats, and conservation efforts (and challenges). Marc's passion for the wildlife was infectious and we learned so much from him. Many of our travel companions were birders (ourselves excluded) - but Marc's commentary about the various bird species and skill (and a bit of luck) in locating each, drew us in.
The optional trips are must-do's - the night safari in St. Lucia was our favourite with rhino and leopard encounters (we were wowed to say the least).
Marc and Mike also tried to accommodate my request for cultural experiences. They recommended an optional school and village tour just outside of Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary, Swaziland. Unfortunately the school was closed for holidays and the village encounter was more like a human zoo - something to consider before you sign up and pay at the park.
We highly recommend bringing warm clothing if travelling in August! We had some cold mornings for our early starts and layering is essential!
Overall, we highly recommended this Explore trip!
Joanne & Steve
Guelph, Canada
August 4-13, 2016
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2016
Published on: 11 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Elaine

Stourbridge
It was well organised and very busy. The leader made sure we knew exactly what we were doing and what we needed. He also tried his best to ensure we had a good experience on the game drives. It was extremely cold in the Drakensberg mountains which was a bit of a shock! The highlight was in Swaziland at the game reserve as animals wonder freely around the camp and you can walk around. The accommodation was quirky and when there was a risk of a bush fire out leader has us all prepared. It was an excellent tour!
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2016
Published on: 18 August 2016
(10 out of 10)

Karen

broseley
We booked as a family with teenage children and this was booked as our holiday of a lifetime...it certainly lived up to all of our expectations. It was a perfect holiday. It was very busy, with early starts and a lot of driving but there was so much to see. I had imagined there would be more walking and less time spent in the jeep so i took far too much sun lotion that was not needed!! Also didn't need any smart clothes for the evening as it is all very casual. The first part of the trip was focused on the history and battlefields, brought to life by a very enthusiastic guide, and the rest of the trip on animal spotting. The highlights were the number of animals that we saw and so close up. I had imagined we would rely heavily on binoculars but although they were useful at times the majority of animals were so close. We had a brilliant night time drive where we saw a pack of hyenas kill a waterbuck, we saw a mongoose kill a spitting cobra and so many rhinos, zebras, warthogs, impala, elephants, the big 5.
The meals that were provided were great. Lunches were usually bought at a supermarket en route. I would say take most of your money in cash as there is little opportunity to use a cash machine or card machine. You also need to pay in cash at the beginning of your trip for any extra tours you want to take during the holiday. We went on all the extra tours because it seemed daft not to when we were there. The whale watching was disappointing because we didn't really see anything ( July) but all the others were enjoyable.
The accommodation was brilliant, we had a variety of traditional style huts to stay in. The least liked was the Kruger accommodation as the huts were tiny and very basic and the only place to eat was a wimpy!!
We all took water aid bottles as advised but in fact it was easy and not expensive to buy bottled water so i think perhaps we would have been better buying fewer just as a back up rather than buying one each.
Confirmed traveller: 27 July 2016
Published on: 03 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Sarai

Hawkhurst
From the moment we stepped off the plane our feet never touched the ground. This trip packed in everything that you could wish for and more. Led by our passionate guides, Graeme and Chris, we explored their beloved country. We were overwhelmed with landscapes, wildlife and the Oscar winning acting abilities of our guides as they took us through the momentous battle of Rorke's drift.
This trip is not for the faint hearted as a lot is packed in every day. But it is the only way to see such a beautiful country. We stayed in amazing accommodation and were introduced to the cuisine of South Africa by Graeme and Chris who kept us well fed with a range of dishes. Nights were spent around the camp fire where we soaked up the ambiance of our surroundings. The trucks were a great transporter to see the country though they did numb your behind and left us with creaky knees, but that was a small price to pay.
There are so many special moments that we cannot name one. We were spoilt by an awesome group and Graeme and Chris who worked tirelessly to provide us with a holiday never to forget.
We would highly recommend this trip to anyone who is seeking an awfully big adventure.
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2016
Published on: 24 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Iain

Hockley
Brilliant trip with 2 entertaining and knowledgeable guides. Saw the Zulu battlegrounds which is a tick off of the bucket list. We saw so many different types of wildlife and got the chance to see and do so many different things. Highlights included a walk in the Drakensburg mountains, the hippo cruise and of course all the different safaris we went on. So much was packed in and whilst the days were long with some early starts that enabled us all to see as much as possible. We also had a great group with everybody getting on well with each other. Tips would be to do all the optional extras that you can and you can always catch up with sleep when you get back
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2016
Published on: 18 April 2016
(7 out of 10)

Alan

Peterborough
Highlights was the flexibility of the leaders. The itinerary made maximum use of the short duration. The vehicles were not particularly comfortable and we spent many hours travelling in them.
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2016
Published on: 25 March 2016