It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
633 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Zululand and Kruger Wildlife + Cape Escape ZKC

Trip Duration 20 Days
 

Reviews for Zululand and Kruger Wildlife + Cape Escape

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Zululand and Kruger Wildlife + Cape Escape trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Zululand & Kruger Wildlife + Cape Escape reviews verified by reevooReevoo

18 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Zululand & Kruger Wildlife + Cape EscapeScores 8.4 out of 10 based on 18 reviews
(3 out of 10)

Eric

Great Waldingfield
The transport on the Kruger tour had been refurbished. However, it leaked extensively before the sides were dropped and suggest waterproofs are carried for any rain showers while travelling. The guides (Graeme, Grant and trainee Verner) were excellent. St Lucia wetlands was very good. Accommodation at Kruger poor with toilets 100m across a wet grass area and food in a Wimpey due to rain. Graskop was good views but accommodation damp including bed.
Cape Town tour was led by a guide who had never undertaken tour before. He did not plan ahead and made bookings too late resulting in disappointment when certain excursions were not available. As a consequence the itinerary was changed frequently. His ability to manage the group was poor causing further changes. On two occasions he left most of the group stranded for 2-3 hours and did not respond to telephone contact. Cape Town and the Garden Route itself were great with excellent views . The tour would have been recommended but for the guide and some selfish people in the group.
Confirmed traveller: 08 March 2017
Published on: 10 March 2017

Thanks for your feedback Eric, I’m sorry that you were so disappointed with your experience. It’s a shame to hear that you still had issues with the transport, despite having a new vehicle – we have addressed this with our supplier and reminded them that all vehicles must undergo a safety and maintenance check before every departure. We also understand that some of the accommodation used was affected by damp, this was due to the Tropical Cyclone Dineo that hit the northern part of the country and caused flooding in many of the areas.
I’m sorry that you were also disappointed with your Explore Leader for the Cape Town portion. Although Deon has not led this particular trip previously, there is a set itinerary that we have put together with the help of other leaders, which he would have been able to follow. We have addressed this with him, as well as our local agent, to make sure all of our leaders are sticking to the planned itinerary.

(6 out of 10)

Susan

Newport
Highlights: optional hippo cruise/optional trip to Cape Verde/time in St Lucia, stay in Mlilwane, time/walk at Cape Point, Boulders Bay, stop at the last prison Mandela spent time. Felt leaders on first half were more drivers. Answered questioned if asked but didn't enthuse about their country/pour out information. Long journeys would have been better if leaders had microphones and talked about the country more. (Leader on second half did this and was more professional.) Also, at Kruger, it was down to us to spot animals as the guide (Nico) roared along in his vehicle. Tips kitty on first half was a fiasco too. We were asked for 450 rand per person (£28) by Sidney for just part one of the trip - thus £54 for two - and we just basically excessively tipped people for cleaning our rooms! The tiny room at Kruger was even not clean - sink dirty, shelves dusty - tip for one night: 500 rand for 8 rooms! Same at Mogodi Lodge - towels smelt of damp and leader did breakfast - tip 500 rand...In Swaziland, people were tipping with their meal and then tipping some dancers after the meal. We then found out the leader had used the tips kitty for this...Optional trips were not even included. Didn't partake in the kitty on part two of the trip. Contributing supposed to be optional - made to feel we had no choice on part one even though the amount conflicted with trip notes. On second half we felt we had to stand our ground yet were spoken about our not taking part twice. This tips kitty didn't feel optional to us. (We are happy to tip for good service but not just throw money away..) Also, spent 4 hours waiting in airport for connection from Joburg to C'town, watched two other South African flights go whilst sitting there. (Were full - we asked.) Poor organisation. Earlier connection needed. Arrived after midnight at hotel to be told wake up call would be 6 am to start trip next day. Lots of time wasted too on group meals... they took hours.... meaning late nights when we had early starts. 18 people on 2nd half - just felt too many. 2nd half of trip just seemed lots of driving... Day badly organised at Tsitsikamma NP... lots of hanging around but guide was new to trip and his notes said optional walk would take two hours - but took half an hour. Also, dropped off at Knysna waterfront in the evening for several hours but only a few shops and restaurants there. However, it was good that the driver dropped us off and picked us all the time on second half of the trip so our safety was guaranteed. On the whole though, felt the two halves could have been a lot slicker.
Confirmed traveller: 28 February 2017
Published on: 09 March 2017
(7 out of 10)

Gillian

Warwick
An excellent introduction to South Africa and Swaziland
Confirmed traveller: 07 December 2016
Published on: 09 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Carol

st albans
Was a fab trip just a little disappointed with first mode of transport as minibus was too small. Also itinerary said we would visit a township as a highlight but this was not possible. However all of the rest was amazing and love the contrast of the two trips.
Confirmed traveller: 01 December 2016
Published on: 03 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Eileen

Wirral
A trip of two halves and great diversity. Great game viewing opportunities supported by knowledgeable guides. Close encounters with many animals but please don't ride an ostrich - they are not designed to carry humans and don't seem to enjoy the experience.

All the main tourist attractions are covered and Cape Town is naturally stunning. South Africa provides great value for money and I had many delicious and memorable meals. The number of optional excursions on this trip means that most interests can be catered for and it is certainly an action packed tour.
Confirmed traveller: 23 November 2016
Published on: 02 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Derek

Chapel Hill
Being my first time in Africa and my third Explore trip, this is a great introduction to one of the continents most beautiful countries. I got to see most of the wildlife I wanted to see-lions, elephants, rhinos, hippos, giraffes, buffalo, many species of antelope, and plenty of birds and reptiles. Also great was the scenery. I did two wonderful hikes on the Garden Route portion of the tour, including Plattenburg Bay, which may be the best seashore hike I've ever done. Also had two great guides, some interesting accomidations (Swazi huts anyone?), and great meals in either restaraunts or cooking.
Confirmed traveller: 02 November 2016
Published on: 04 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Robert

Orleans
The land cruisers are tired and need to be replaced. One could not even keep 40 kms an hour uphill.
Guides are knowledgeable, friendly and informative - Thanks Andre and Graeme. Highlights were the wildlife and beautiful scenery. Historical perspective was interesting and educational.
Many had bags with wheels wish we did to make transfers easier. The ensuites were very comfortable and the beehive huts interesting to stay in.
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2016
Published on: 08 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Angela

Brightlingsea
All fantastic! South Africa is an amazing country and this trip has so much variety from the incredible wildlife to mountains and wild coastline. Excellent value.
Confirmed traveller: 19 October 2016
Published on: 26 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Paul

Dover
We done this trip as one holiday which I would recommend doing. The trip covers many aspects of South Africa and provides a variety of fantastic experiences. A real highlight in the first part was a visit to the Kruger and also Milwane Reserve. Both of these provided some fantastic experiences and seeing some amazing wildlife. Another recommendation for this would be the hippo cruise in St Lucia. A great opportunity to get up close to the hippos and see them having fun ! Our two guides for this part where fantastic. Graham and Mark really went out of their way to ensure we all had an amazing trip and organised everything very well. If you get these guys you will have a memorable trip !

The second part was also great. Our guide (Nerise) was really attentive and was very knowledgeable and helpful to ensure we all had a great time. The variety on this part of the trip was fantastic. Some great hikes (quite hard sometimes!) with visits from vineyards to schools ... and even some zip-lining too !!

I would recommend this whole trip to anyone who wants to see South Africa in all its glory.
Confirmed traveller: 05 October 2016
Published on: 19 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

C

UK
This trip was in 2 parts with 2 different leaders and local agents. The Kruger part was excellent and I would rate 10 for each part. Highlights were experienced every day, the leaders were the best I have ever met and very knowledgeable and passionate about the tour and their country. (Graeme and Nicu) The accommodation exceeded all expectations at all stages. This part of the tour exceeded in all areas.
Highlights include all safari drives, accommodation, leaders, vehicles, Swaziland, Zulu areas, knowledgeable leaders, food prepared by leaders, braai's to name just a few!

The Cape Town part of the trip didn't meet expectations in the same way, the pace of tour was far too slow and relaxed, especially after we had such a brilliant first part of the tour. Starting at 9.30am each day meant that we arrived places late and didn't seem to spend enough time in some areas. There was a lot of hanging around each day. We usually arrived at evening accommodation after dark which wasn't ideal. It was obvious that the leader hadn't done this tour before and even though he was knowledgeable about the general area he didn't know the tour. He underestimated the walks and some in the group struggled. He hadn't done the walks before and was following them on an iPad app which was not accurate. All optional activities offered seemed to be compulsory, as the only alternative was waiting outside the entrance to places. There was no option of whale watching on boats even though this was in the itinerary at 2 opportunities, the township tour also didn't happen because we were told it would be unsafe on a Sunday evening to do this and on the Monday morning it was muddy and too wet (it hadn't rained!) As a group we had to push to go up Table Mountain as the guide said there was no visibility when he arrived at the hotel. As soon as we looked outside we could see the top clearly, the guide let 1 female member walk up by themselves and didn't accompany them, the rest of the group went up in the cable car and the leader stayed with the driver. The walker was experienced and said they were happy to go up by themselves but this still didn't seem right. The accommodation in this part of the tour was mixed with 1 place (Lagoona Inn) being very damp and musty, bedding was damp the the rooms smelled. Round the Bend Lodge was lovely, really enjoyed the area and sleeping in the huts but there was rodent droppings in the on suite. If this had been called the 'food and coffee shop' tour it would have been far more accurate.
Confirmed traveller: 31 August 2016
Published on: 10 October 2016