It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
621 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Zululand and Kruger Wildlife + Cape Escape ZKC

Trip Duration 20 Days
 

Reviews for Zululand and Kruger Wildlife + Cape Escape

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Zululand and Kruger Wildlife + Cape Escape trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Zululand & Kruger Wildlife + Cape Escape reviews verified by reevooReevoo

20 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Zululand & Kruger Wildlife + Cape EscapeScores 8.4 out of 10 based on 20 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Tourist

West Sussex
The guides were absolutely excellent. Very professional and ensured that we had the best possible experience. We were very fortunate to see all of the Big 5, even though we hadn't travelled at the best time of year for good sightings. Accommodation was great, beehive huts the highlight. Highly recommend this trip.
Confirmed traveller: 22 March 2017
Published on: 01 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Edward

WashDC
First, let me say that this "trip" was actually two Explore! trips, back to back. As such, we had different leaders/crew for the first part (Zululand/Kruger) and the Cape part. Both trips had good itineraries, and I'd recommend them for anyone interested in a variety of experiences in So. Africa. The first loop was "nature and culture" oriented, whereas the Cape tour was more laid-back and more touring than adventure (except the climb up Table Mountain, which was a good workout, but certainly doable for those in good shape).

My lower scores overall really reflect the fact that the Trip Leader on the Cape Escape portion was a real disaster. He was a last-minute substitute and had never been on the tour. My guess is he was a Capetown "local guide" they substituted for the entire tour. He wasn't ready for this assignment. Had poor organization skills and seemed unable to comprehend the concept of "time" -- that if we did one thing, it would preclude our being able to do something else. He split up the group twice in order to assist one/two people do what they wanted, while that left stranded the rest of the group waiting for him/the few to follow their own interests. I've been on Explore! trips before (and since) and had great guides. They really messed up by allowing an unprepared person take this assignment. (I wonder if they queried the local tour company about the qualifications of the guide when they had to do a last-minute substitute -- and if they will have second thoughts about using this company again. Things happen -- the local company should have had a trained alternate on-hand, IMHO.)

Take the tour. Just be hopeful you get a good leader.
Confirmed traveller: 09 March 2017
Published on: 08 May 2017
(3 out of 10)

Eric

Great Waldingfield
The transport on the Kruger tour had been refurbished. However, it leaked extensively before the sides were dropped and suggest waterproofs are carried for any rain showers while travelling. The guides (Graeme, Grant and trainee Verner) were excellent. St Lucia wetlands was very good. Accommodation at Kruger poor with toilets 100m across a wet grass area and food in a Wimpey due to rain. Graskop was good views but accommodation damp including bed.
Cape Town tour was led by a guide who had never undertaken tour before. He did not plan ahead and made bookings too late resulting in disappointment when certain excursions were not available. As a consequence the itinerary was changed frequently. His ability to manage the group was poor causing further changes. On two occasions he left most of the group stranded for 2-3 hours and did not respond to telephone contact. Cape Town and the Garden Route itself were great with excellent views . The tour would have been recommended but for the guide and some selfish people in the group.
Confirmed traveller: 08 March 2017
Published on: 10 March 2017

Thanks for your feedback Eric, I’m sorry that you were so disappointed with your experience. It’s a shame to hear that you still had issues with the transport, despite having a new vehicle – we have addressed this with our supplier and reminded them that all vehicles must undergo a safety and maintenance check before every departure. We also understand that some of the accommodation used was affected by damp, this was due to the Tropical Cyclone Dineo that hit the northern part of the country and caused flooding in many of the areas.
I’m sorry that you were also disappointed with your Explore Leader for the Cape Town portion. Although Deon has not led this particular trip previously, there is a set itinerary that we have put together with the help of other leaders, which he would have been able to follow. We have addressed this with him, as well as our local agent, to make sure all of our leaders are sticking to the planned itinerary.

(6 out of 10)

Susan

Newport
Highlights: optional hippo cruise/optional trip to Cape Verde/time in St Lucia, stay in Mlilwane, time/walk at Cape Point, Boulders Bay, stop at the last prison Mandela spent time. Felt leaders on first half were more drivers. Answered questioned if asked but didn't enthuse about their country/pour out information. Long journeys would have been better if leaders had microphones and talked about the country more. (Leader on second half did this and was more professional.) Also, at Kruger, it was down to us to spot animals as the guide (Nico) roared along in his vehicle. Tips kitty on first half was a fiasco too. We were asked for 450 rand per person (£28) by Sidney for just part one of the trip - thus £54 for two - and we just basically excessively tipped people for cleaning our rooms! The tiny room at Kruger was even not clean - sink dirty, shelves dusty - tip for one night: 500 rand for 8 rooms! Same at Mogodi Lodge - towels smelt of damp and leader did breakfast - tip 500 rand...In Swaziland, people were tipping with their meal and then tipping some dancers after the meal. We then found out the leader had used the tips kitty for this...Optional trips were not even included. Didn't partake in the kitty on part two of the trip. Contributing supposed to be optional - made to feel we had no choice on part one even though the amount conflicted with trip notes. On second half we felt we had to stand our ground yet were spoken about our not taking part twice. This tips kitty didn't feel optional to us. (We are happy to tip for good service but not just throw money away..) Also, spent 4 hours waiting in airport for connection from Joburg to C'town, watched two other South African flights go whilst sitting there. (Were full - we asked.) Poor organisation. Earlier connection needed. Arrived after midnight at hotel to be told wake up call would be 6 am to start trip next day. Lots of time wasted too on group meals... they took hours.... meaning late nights when we had early starts. 18 people on 2nd half - just felt too many. 2nd half of trip just seemed lots of driving... Day badly organised at Tsitsikamma NP... lots of hanging around but guide was new to trip and his notes said optional walk would take two hours - but took half an hour. Also, dropped off at Knysna waterfront in the evening for several hours but only a few shops and restaurants there. However, it was good that the driver dropped us off and picked us all the time on second half of the trip so our safety was guaranteed. On the whole though, felt the two halves could have been a lot slicker.
Confirmed traveller: 28 February 2017
Published on: 09 March 2017
(7 out of 10)

Gillian

Warwick
An excellent introduction to South Africa and Swaziland
Confirmed traveller: 07 December 2016
Published on: 09 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Carol

st albans
Was a fab trip just a little disappointed with first mode of transport as minibus was too small. Also itinerary said we would visit a township as a highlight but this was not possible. However all of the rest was amazing and love the contrast of the two trips.
Confirmed traveller: 01 December 2016
Published on: 03 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Eileen

Wirral
A trip of two halves and great diversity. Great game viewing opportunities supported by knowledgeable guides. Close encounters with many animals but please don't ride an ostrich - they are not designed to carry humans and don't seem to enjoy the experience.

All the main tourist attractions are covered and Cape Town is naturally stunning. South Africa provides great value for money and I had many delicious and memorable meals. The number of optional excursions on this trip means that most interests can be catered for and it is certainly an action packed tour.
Confirmed traveller: 23 November 2016
Published on: 02 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Derek

Chapel Hill
Being my first time in Africa and my third Explore trip, this is a great introduction to one of the continents most beautiful countries. I got to see most of the wildlife I wanted to see-lions, elephants, rhinos, hippos, giraffes, buffalo, many species of antelope, and plenty of birds and reptiles. Also great was the scenery. I did two wonderful hikes on the Garden Route portion of the tour, including Plattenburg Bay, which may be the best seashore hike I've ever done. Also had two great guides, some interesting accomidations (Swazi huts anyone?), and great meals in either restaraunts or cooking.
Confirmed traveller: 02 November 2016
Published on: 04 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Robert

Orleans
The land cruisers are tired and need to be replaced. One could not even keep 40 kms an hour uphill.
Guides are knowledgeable, friendly and informative - Thanks Andre and Graeme. Highlights were the wildlife and beautiful scenery. Historical perspective was interesting and educational.
Many had bags with wheels wish we did to make transfers easier. The ensuites were very comfortable and the beehive huts interesting to stay in.
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2016
Published on: 08 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Angela

Brightlingsea
All fantastic! South Africa is an amazing country and this trip has so much variety from the incredible wildlife to mountains and wild coastline. Excellent value.
Confirmed traveller: 19 October 2016
Published on: 26 October 2016